1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing build 26

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. vefatica

    vefatica

    Messages:
    4,797
    Got this the first time. The second time it worked.

    Code:
    Exception - [SEH_AV_DEP_BADPTR] ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at address 0xae14fe1a988a840f.
    
        *** Stack Trace (x86) ***
    
    [0x988a840f]   -----
    [0x6f697a94]   MsiSetOfflineContextW()
    [0x6f55a45c]   MsiInvalidateFeatureCache()
    [0x6f5b5b92]   MsiGetPropertyW()
    [0x0027defc]   -----
    [0x0028b9c0]   -----
    [0x0029321b]   -----
    [0x00293012]   -----
    [0x00288b4b]   -----
    [0x0028d1a7]   -----
    [0x0028cfa8]   -----
    [0x00239d51]   -----
    [0x00239f02]   -----
    [0x00238e01]   -----
    [0x00235db4]   -----
    [0x0052f9fc]   -----
    [0x0055005c]   -----
    [0x00650073]   -----
    [0x00730072]   -----
    [0x0076005c]   -----
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,566
    Report it to Microsoft; I can't do anything about it.
  3. vefatica

    vefatica

    Messages:
    4,797
    A similar thing happened on my work machine (XP) ... crash the first time, success the second time. Both were b24 to b26.

  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,566
    The installer developers want a verbose log:

    tcmd.exe /L*V logfilename
  5. vefatica

    vefatica

    Messages:
    4,797
    On Wed, 12 Oct 2011 10:56:21 -0400, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote (Originally by vefatica)---
    |A similar thing happened on my work machine (XP) ... crash the first time, success the second time. Both were b24 to b26.
    |---End Quote---
    |
    |The installer developers want a verbose log:
    |
    |tcmd.exe /L*V logfilename

    What am I supposed to do with that command line (and when)? TCMD chokes on it.
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,566
    You're supposed to use that on the installer, not the installed TCMD.EXE.
    The TCMD.EXE installer is just a wrapper around msiexec, which is what
    generates the installation log.

    The installer developers need a log of a failed (crashed) installation.
  7. Steve Fabian

    Steve Fabian

    Messages:
    3,418
    From: vefatica
    | rconn wrote:
    || The installer developers want a verbose log:
    ||
    || tcmd.exe /L*V logfilename
    |
    | What am I supposed to do with that command line (and when)? TCMD
    | chokes on it.

    I suppose it's a command to use with the installer - you are supposed to DWRM!

    I had suggested long ago that the installer and the product have different filenames, to make it easier to know which kind a file is, and to make communications easier. For a while I thought that MS installers do not permit that, but we have a bunch of counterexamples: installers for the LE and for the 64b versions.
    --
    Steve
  8. vefatica

    vefatica

    Messages:
    4,797
    On Wed, 12 Oct 2011 11:50:22 -0400, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> What am I supposed to do with that command line (and when)?
    |> TCMD chokes on it.
    |---End Quote---
    |You're supposed to use that on the installer, not the installed TCMD.EXE.
    |The TCMD.EXE installer is just a wrapper around msiexec, which is what
    |generates the installation log.
    |
    |The installer developers need a log of a failed (crashed) installation.

    It is still now clear what you're asking me to do ... and when.
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,566
    1) Download the installer.

    2) Run it with the /L*V option.

    3) If it crashes, send me the log. If it doesn't crash, go to 1.
  10. mfarah

    mfarah

    Messages:
    130
    Shouldn't he go to 2? I mean, why clog the network? ;-)
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,566
    No, go to 1. It only (sometimes) happens the first time he tries to install
    a new build.
  12. vefatica

    vefatica

    Messages:
    4,797
    On Wed, 12 Oct 2011 15:39:46 -0400, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> ---Quote (Originally by rconn)---
    |> 1) Download the installer.
    |>
    |> 2) Run it with the /L*V option.
    |>
    |> 3) If it crashes, send me the log. If it doesn't crash, go to 1.
    |> ---End Quote---
    |> Shouldn't he go to *2*? I mean, why clog the network? ;-)
    |---End Quote---
    |No, go to 1. It only (sometimes) happens the first time he tries to install
    |a new build.

    That's right and IIRC, the fix in XP was to DL and install manually (not via
    OPTION /U).
  13. vefatica

    vefatica

    Messages:
    4,797
    Another failed install! Find INSTALL27.ZIP attached.

    Attached Files:

  14. vefatica

    vefatica

    Messages:
    4,797
    On Tue, 18 Oct 2011 11:31:17 -0400, vefatica <> wrote:

    |---Quote (Originally by rconn)---
    |1) Download the installer.
    |
    |2) Run it with the /L*V option.
    |
    |3) If it crashes, send me the log. If it doesn't crash, go to 1.
    |---End Quote---
    |Another failed install! Find INSTALL27.ZIP attached.
    |
    |Attached to this message is install27.zip (http://jpsoft.com/forums/attachments/support/237d1318951834-installing-build-26-install27.zip)

    Odd ... the last line in the log of the failed install is

    Code:
    Action start 11:24:01: ProgressDlg.
    On the second try (successful, no new download) the log does not contain such a
    line.
  15. Steve Fabian

    Steve Fabian

    Messages:
    3,418
    From: vefatica
    Subject: RE: [Support-t-3276] Installing build 26
    | Attached to this message is install27.zip

    Oxymoron? Or have I missed the announcement of B27's availability?
    --
    Steve
  16. vefatica

    vefatica

    Messages:
    4,797
    On Tue, 18 Oct 2011 12:32:16 -0400, Steve Fabian <> wrote:

    |From: vefatica
    |Subject: RE: [Support-t-3276] Installing build 26
    || Attached to this message is install27.zip
    |
    |Oxymoron? Or have I missed the announcement of B27's availability?

    I didn't see it either, but it must be official since I DL'd it from the web
    site, and on my work machine, got it via "OPTION /U".
  17. JohnQSmith

    JohnQSmith

    Messages:
    421
    Here's one that crashes all the time for me.

    At work, I don't have TC installed in the default "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\...." In order to keep my personal software separate from my work provided software, I install in "C:\MyProgramFiles\JPSoft\...."

    Here's where the crash comes in every time. Sometimes, while installing an update, I forget to change the install folder from "C:\Program Fil..." and continue to the next screen then remember and click the back button. I then change the install path to "C:\MyProga..." then continue with the Next buttons to the point of installation. It crashes every single time.

    If I remember to change the install path the first time through, the install works correctly.
  18. rconn

    rconn Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,566
    I've passed it on to the installer developers.
  19. rconn

    rconn Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,566
    Can you generate a verbose installer log? And the crash info (taken from
    the screen) would be useful for me to pass on to the Windows Installer
    developers.
  20. JohnQSmith

    JohnQSmith

    Messages:
    421
    Will do that right now since build 27 is available.
  21. JohnQSmith

    JohnQSmith

    Messages:
    421
    I haven't installed yet. How do I run the logger "/L*V logfile.txt" from the updater? Or how do I run the downloaded installer executable as an updater while passing the logging switch? If I run the installer from the CMD prompt with just the logging switch, it wants to Add Components or Repair, it doesn't go to the upgrade.
  22. rconn

    rconn Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,566
    the

    You should be able to just run the installer like this:

    tcmd.exe /L*V install.log

    (Or tcmdx64.exe if you're using the 64-bit version.) But if you crashed
    during the previous install attempt, Windows will display the repair or
    uninstall dialog. In that case, uninstall and then try installing again.
  23. JohnQSmith

    JohnQSmith

    Messages:
    421
    CRAP!

    I did it and it failed. Then I decided to get a better screen shot and it ended up working the second time (and third and fourth ...) and I lost the install log file.

    Here's the screen shot.

    Attached Files:

Share This Page