1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

access denied problem under Vista

Discussion in 'Support' started by covici, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. covici

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I was unable to copy a file into the take command default directory from my old one unless I ran take command as administrator which I might want to do sometimes, but not all the time! The new directory is the default installation directory and the old one was c:\tc32500. I am an administrator of the system, but for some reason this is not enough. Now, I use other programs which save under Program files without having to run as administrator, so what is going on here?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Stephen Worthington

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    On Thu, 26 Jun 2008 04:12:56 -0500, you wrote:


    The other programs you are using must also be running as
    Administrator, as that is the only way to copy into the Program Files
    directories under Vista unless you turn UAC off (as I have). Only
    installers are allowed to write to Program Files (and a number of
    other directories). Programs may seem to be writing to Program Files,
    but in fact they may have been diverted to a special "VirtualStore"
    folder instead. Take a look at:

    \Users\<userid>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore

    You may not be able to see that directory with normal software unless
    you use "Run as Administrator".

    This:

    http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/5538

    has a quick explanation of what is going on (see the "Virtualization
    Example" section).
     
  3. covici

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. Stephen Worthington

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    On Thu, 26 Jun 2008 09:10:19 -0500, you wrote:


     
  5. Eric Pement

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for providing this information. I had a hard time this morning helping a new Take Command user configure his copy of TCSTART.BTM, which I have always stored in the same directory as Take Command or TCC.EXE. We edited the file in three different editors, and each time thought we were saving it in "c:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9", yet when we looked there from a TCC shell prompt or from Windows Explorer, TCSTART.BTM was nowhere to be found.

    Arrrgh! This was so frustrating, since I am an experienced 4NT and Windows user, but have very little experience with Windows Vista. Now I know what's going on. (I sort of wish the Vista monkey business had been mentioned in the README file, because it would have saved me time.)

    Does Take Command need a special directive in TCMD.INI to locate the TCSTART.BTM file, or does it know to look in the VirtualStore folder?
     
  6. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Eric Pement wrote:
    | Does Take Command need a special directive in TCMD.INI to locate the
    | TCSTART.BTM file, or does it know to look in the VirtualStore folder?

    Look at help topic "startup2_2.htm", titled "Starting TCC" for various
    methods of specifying the location of the TCSTART.BTM file in TCMD.INI or in
    the start-up command itself.

    If TCC is to start in a TCMD tab automatically, look in the description of
    TCMD tabs.
    --
    HTH, Steve
     

Share This Page