1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to? activate tab with same directory in command line

Discussion in 'Support' started by ehab aboudaya, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. ehab aboudaya

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    is it possible to call

    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD13\tcmd.exe" /D "d:\somedir\another" /T TCC
    so that if tcmd is already running and one of the tabs already on d:\somedir\another is activated rather than open a new one?

    thanks for any pointers or feedback
    regards
    ehab
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    No.

    (It would be possible to add something like this to TCMD + TCC, but it wouldn't be possible if you were using some other shell in the tab window (CMD, PowerShell, Bash, etc.).
     
  3. ehab aboudaya

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    may i ask how is it possible with TCMD + TCC ?

    i don't use another shell at the moment.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    It would only be possible if I added support for it in a future version (it would require some IPC between the TCMD process and the TCC process).
     
  5. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ehab,

    You could create your own "IPC" using the volatile registry. You could use a post_exec alias and send %_cwd to a volatile env variable. Then in your tcstart file check if there is a match, activate that window, and exit.

    I don't have access to my pc to test any of that this week. I'm using an iPad to stay up to date on my emails. But Charles or Vincent might be willing to try something.

    Scott
     
  6. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    11
    I was thinking something along the lines of
    Code:
    Set /v TCC_%_pid=%_cwd
    
    And
    
    Do p in /p set /v TCC_ (if %_cwd==%p activate... Yada Yada)
    
     
  7. ehab aboudaya

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks interesting and can open new possibilities for me. i will have a go and watch this thread again.

    thanks scott
     

Share This Page