1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Always get shortcut in Start Menu folder

Discussion in 'Support' started by David Marcus, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    1
    I uncheck all the check boxes on the "Configure Shortcuts" page of the installation, but I still get a shortcut in the Start Menu folder. It would be nice if there was a way to not get this.
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    Likes Received:
    80
    David Marcus wrote:

    This is a Windows Installer bug; I reported it (a long time ago) but
    haven't gotten a fix from Microsoft.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Tue, 31 Mar 2009 22:27:51 -0500, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> I uncheck all the check boxes on the "Configure Shortcuts" page of the installation, but I still get a shortcut in the Start Menu folder. It would be nice if there was a way to not get this.
    |---End Quote---
    |This is a Windows Installer bug; I reported it (a long time ago) but
    |haven't gotten a fix from Microsoft.

    I've installed quite a bit on my new computer saying no to that question
    whenever I had a chance. TCMD is the only one that put a shortcut on my start
    menu (i.e., above the start menu's separator). If you could have it not even
    ask that question that'd be fine with me. A more appropriate place is somewhere
    in "Programs" anyway.

    --
    - Vince
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Tue, 31 Mar 2009 22:37:21 -0500, vefatica <> wrote:

    |I've installed quite a bit on my new computer saying no to that question
    |whenever I had a chance. TCMD is the only one that put a shortcut on my start
    |menu (i.e., above the start menu's separator). If you could have it not even
    |ask that question that'd be fine with me. A more appropriate place is somewhere
    |in "Programs" anyway.

    P.S. I use the classic start menu. Won't newer start menu schemes automatically
    keep it handy if it's frequently used?
    --
    - Vince
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    And after many installs, I have an empty TCMDLE folder in Programs and no folder for the full-blown TCMD in programs. Both keep reappearing on the start menu (above the separator) and I keep deleting them.
     
  6. Rod Savard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    3
    Actually I don't think this is a bug per se. The installer simply does not offer the option to not create the icon at the top of the Start Menu. The only Start Menu shortcut option is the one that creates it Start Menu/Programs list.

    Unchecking that one does suppress the creation of the shortcut in the Programs list, but when doing a clean install it will still create an empty folder. I delete this folder and it is not recreated on subsequent upgrades.

    It doesn't seem right that it's a Microsoft bug. Like Vince, I haven't experienced this on any other programs and almost everything uses InstallShield. I think it's an installer bug.
     
  7. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    Put the appropriate DEL and RD in your TCSTART.BTM, and they'll never bother you again....
     

Share This Page