1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Autocomplete with backslash on paths?

Discussion in 'TCC/LE Support' started by jason404, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. jason404

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to have TCC/LE autocomplete with backslashes on paths, like in bash?

    I tried searching the forum but could not find anything.

    Cheers
     
  2. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,300
    Likes Received:
    39
    Type OPTION and press Enter; you'll get a configuration dialog. Select the "Command Line" tab. The lower-left portion of this page has several options affecting filename completion; you want the third one down.
     
  3. jason404

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh that's great. I was not actually expecting a positive reply on this. It looks like there are a lot of interesting options to explore.

    Could you tell me if it is possible to stop CD from autocompleting files, like CMD does? It seems stupid for it to autocomplete irrelevant stuff.

    Thanks.
     
  4. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    1
    In Option > Command Line > Filename Completion > Options, I have "cd cdd rd:dirs".
     
  5. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,300
    Likes Received:
    39
    MD and PUSHD might make sense there, too.
     
  6. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like mkdir needs to be listed too.
     
  7. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    On 04/17/2011 12:07 PM, Charles Dye wrote:

    As long as we are on the subject of file name completion, is it possible
    to have file name completion at the prompt also include files other than
    .exe or .btm? For example, I like using executible extensions so I do
    this a lot:
    taxes.xls

    and excel will start w/ taxes.xls loaded. But I cannot use tab to
    autocomplete here.

    Can I set it up so that <tab> at a command prompt will include
    executable extension files for MS-office?

    Thanks
     
  8. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,300
    Likes Received:
    39
    If you set up .XLS as an executable extension, then tab completion will offer Excel files:

    Code:
    set .xls=excel.exe /e
    
    If you want to complete some filename for which you don't have an executable extension set, type a space before it. Then your filename isn't at the very start of the command line, so the special rules don't apply.

    </tab>
     
  9. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    thanks.

    On 04/17/2011 02:17 PM, Charles Dye wrote:

     
  10. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    11
    If you're talking about autocomplete, there's
    nothing to complete yet if you're making a directory. So MD and MKDIR
    wouldn't accomplish much.

    -Scott

    David Marcus <> wrote
    on 04/17/2011 12:24:15 PM:


     
  11. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,300
    Likes Received:
    39
    Ah, but sometimes you create a directory inside another directory. (But you never create a subdirectory inside a file....)
     
  12. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    1
    Or, I might want to grab the name of a current directory, then edit it to make a similar new one.
     
  13. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah I realized that *after* I hit send.
    :)

    -Scott

    Charles Dye <> wrote
    on 04/17/2011 10:10:56 PM:



     

Share This Page