1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b25 Good News

Discussion in 'Support' started by K_Meinhard, Oct 31, 2016.

  1. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems this is the first time the installation routine left my separately installed Everything alone and running...

    Nice work!
     
  2. SiggyBar

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is not true for me.

    Here are the steps that I follow:

    1. Before installing Take Command v20.00.25, I close Everything (version 1.4.1.782b (x64)).
    2. Then I install Take Command, leaving the "Install Everything Search service (recommended)" option checked.
    3. After selecting "Run Take Command 20.0", an older version of Everything is running (version 1.4.0.713b (x64)).
    4. When exiting this version of Everything and starting up my previously installed version of Everything, I get a dialog like the one attached.

    After this I get a User Account Control dialog whenever I start Everything (the version that I had installed before installing Take Command). This did not happen before I installed Take Command.

    If I re-install Everything version 1.4.1.782b (x64), then it works again as before installing Take Command.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Could be a conflict with your "manually updated" Everything and the in TC integrated Everything ...

    This would be mean also: TC should be updated with actual Everything beta (v1.4.1.782b).
     
  4. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo SiggyBar

    how did you start your Everything originally? As a service? Manually after Windows start or automatically as a scheduled task with admin rights?

    You'd have to restart Everything service, not the Executable, or the scheduled task, not to get that box.
     
  5. SiggyBar

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I start Everything as a scheduled task with admin rights. I did not restart the service, thanks :)
     
  6. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could put a shortcut to the scheduled task somewhere and use that to start Everything. That should avoid the UAC prompt.
     
  7. SiggyBar

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I re-install Everything version 1.4.1.782b after installing TCMD, then there is not UAC dialog anymore. So this is not a big issue.
     
  8. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know installing the everything again fixed it. However what about the installer searching "Programs and Features" and if everything is not found - then install as usual, if it is - then ask if TCMD's version should be installed?
     
  9. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly what I've been asking for, since Everything was included with TCMD.
     
  10. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,804
    Likes Received:
    82
    Good idea. Not supported by Windows Installer.
     
  11. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the installer:

    1) not allow searching Programs and Features?

    2) query the user?
     
  12. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,804
    Likes Received:
    82
    No.

    Yes, if you write custom dialogs & a dll to process the actions.
     

Share This Page