1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

back to 32?

Discussion in 'Support' started by yakir, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. yakir

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running: TCC 13.03.39 x64 Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7601]

    I am seeing more and more problems that seem to be related to the x64 version only (see previous threads).
    I am considering running the 32 versions to see if this will improve matters.
    What are the other considerations in doing this?
     
  2. pizzaman

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running the 64-bit version and haven't had any problems specific to that version. And I haven't noticed any recent threads that discuss 64-bit problems. What kind of problems are you having?
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    I doubt there's any generic issues relating to the x64 version; it's more likely to be configuration problems or possibly corruption (of TCMD of Windows) on your system.

    I've been running the x64 exclusively for a couple of years without problems (as have many thousands of other users), but thus far you're the only one reporting problems.

    What problems are you seeing other than the unreproducible previously reported one with TCC waiting when starting a GUI app?

    (The considerations in switching to 32-bit on an x64 version of Windows is you will only be able to see the 32-bit apps on the system, and you'll be reading/writing to the 32-bit shadow copy of the Windows registry.)
     
  4. yakir

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    My post was not meant to be a generic attack on the 64 bit version, it is just that the response to a number of issues I have recently reported centered around magic number 64.

    The last release included a fix to an issue I reported regarding copy (http://jpsoft.com/forums/threads/copy-query.3562/#post-20046) which you reported as being reproducible in Win7/64 only.
    As a response to the issue of waiting for GUI app, another user responded a similar situation after switching to Win7/64.
    I was interested in checking out the other unresolved issues I have open (see last 2 posts in http://jpsoft.com/forums/threads/close-button-on-tabs.3602/) in the 32 bit version to see what would happen.
    Once again - I am very satisfied with the product and just wanted to see whether I could remove a number of annoyances with little or no cost.
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    That was a Windows API bug, not a TCC bug. (It's already been fixed for TCC.)

    There has been one other anecdotal report, but no details so far and nothing reproducible.

    Nobody else has been able to reproduce that problem (which would be in Microsoft's code in any case).
     
  6. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    Haven't tried it, but I think you can install them both at the same time, so long as they're installed to different directories.
     
  7. yakir

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last time - I was not casting aspersions or accusations or apportioning blame.
    I was trying to get rid of a few inconveniences, and I thought, that as in two of them x64 seemed to be a common factor (whether in the TCC code or Microsoft code or elsewhere).

    BTW - I just checked out the settings problems (http://jpsoft.com/forums/threads/close-button-on-tabs.3602/) on another machine (TCC 13.03.38 Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7601]) and got the same results for both issues.
     

Share This Page