1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Beep in v13

Discussion in 'Support' started by David Marcus, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can change the default beep to one of the system sounds, and this works. But, if I type "BEEP" at the command line, I don't get any sound. Is this WAD? I would think it should make the sound set as the default.

    The Help for Default Beep says, "Frequency: ... To disable all error beeps set this to 0." This is only true if Length is not zero. The list of system sounds just below this uses different terminology than the page for BEEP, e.g., "default" and "Critical Stop" vs. "asterisk" and "OK".

    By the way, does Windows provide a default for the question sound? I don't have anything set, but I may have removed it at some point.

    TCC 13.00.19 Windows Vista [Version 6.0.6002]
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,785
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Sun, 11 Sep 2011 12:21:38 -0400, David Marcus <> wrote:

    |I can change the default beep to one of the system sounds, and this works. But, if I type "BEEP" at the command line, I don't get any sound. Is this WAD? I would think it should make the sound set as the default.

    I agree. An unqualified "BEEP" should make the default sound.
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    WAD, but I'll change it in the next build to make the default noise.


    set

    Which is what the help says in the next paragraph.

    The list of system sounds just below this uses different terminology than

    "OK".

    "Critical Stop" is "Hand", not "OK".


    Depends on your configuration.
     
  4. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, yes, but I'd change the first one to "To disable all error beeps set this to 0 and Length to a positive value."

    My mistake. I mistyped.
     

Share This Page