1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Browser doesn't start while IDE is running

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    30
    I just noticed this, on two machines (including the one at work which has had no problems lately).

    After starting BDEBUGGER, internet shortcuts (dragged from FireFox's location bar to the desktop or any folder) won't start ... I get an hourglass which persists for 30 seconds (or until IDE is closed) ... then the browser opens.

    The same will happen if, while IDE is running, I type a URL at another TCC's prompt.

    It's easy to repro. With FireFox as default browser, "BDEBUGGER file.btm", and 2-click on a desktop internet shortcut or type a URL at another TCC's prompt.
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    30
    The same thing happens if the browser is already running. Either method (above) should open a new FireFox tab (DDE?) but if IDE is running, it won't open for 30 seconds or until IDE is closed, whichever comes first.
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    30
    And the same thing happens with IDE v11.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,868
    Likes Received:
    83
    Not reproducible here. I get a one second hourglass and then Firefox appears.
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,868
    Likes Received:
    83
    Try it without any plugins loaded.
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    30
    The behavior is the same with no plugins loaded (called "BDEBUGGER /IP file" from a "/IP" session).

    I did notice however that if, after starting IDE, I wait 30 seconds before trying to open an internet shortcut, it's OK.

    All of this reminds me that (as I reported a few days ago) after installing v12 on my work machine, IDE itself would take 30 seconds to start up from a bare TCC. That problem went away after I ran TCMD12 for the first time.

    P.S. Couldn't that be automatic ... if TCC is started with /IP (and others) IDE is started with the same options?
     
  7. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    30
    It's not only browser related. The same thing happens if I "SHELLEX v:\" during IDE's first 30 seconds. SHELLEX is a plugin that simply uses ShellExecuteEx. It would seem that all DDE is affected.
     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,868
    Likes Received:
    83
    Still not reproducible here (on four machines), regardless of when the browser is started.

    Neither Take Command, TCC, nor IDE use DDE.
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,868
    Likes Received:
    83
    I did a quick Google search and found a few zillion messages about Firefox loading really slowly, which has been blamed on about every program out there. There's about as many "fixes" out there. Have you tried disabling/removing Firefox extensions?

    After IDE displays its window, it's sitting in a message loop waiting for something to happen (with no additional threads running); hard to see how that could be adversely affecting Firefox.

    It could be, but IMO it would be a bad idea (particularly in TCMD).
     
  10. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Sat, 13 Nov 2010 20:36:51 -0500, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote (Originally by vefatica)---
    |It's not only browser related. The same thing happens if I "SHELLEX v:\" during IDE's first 30 seconds. SHELLEX is a plugin that simply uses ShellExecuteEx. It would seem that all DDE is affected.
    |---End Quote---
    |
    |Still not reproducible here (on four machines), regardless of when the browser is started.
    |
    |Neither Take Command, TCC, nor IDE use DDE.

    Have you any ideas on debugging it or other things I might try to get rid of it?
     
  11. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    30
    And, these bad things **don't** happen if IDE's parent is not TCC; that is, if I start IDE by clicking in Explorer, at a CMD prompt, or even from TCC with "START d:\tc12\ide.exe".
     
  12. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    30
    It's fixed in build 36. What was the problem?
     
  13. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,868
    Likes Received:
    83
    Beats me; I didn't fix it!
     

Share This Page