1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't access updated plugins at ftp://lucky.syr.edu/4plugins/

Discussion in 'Plugins' started by jmcm, Jul 2, 2016.

  1. jmcm

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is probably an issue for Vince Fatica.

    I recently updated Tcmd to V19.10.51 from V19.00.28. When starting, Tcmd/TCC now report

    TCC: (Sys) The specified procedure could not be found.
    "C:\bin\jpsoft\tcmd\PlugIns\4console.dll"
    TCC: (Sys) The specified procedure could not be found.
    "C:\bin\jpsoft\tcmd\PlugIns\4utils.dll"
    TCC: (Sys) The specified procedure could not be found.
    "C:\bin\jpsoft\tcmd\PlugIns\sysutils.dll"

    I have noted Rex's announcement of changes in Build 31. When I attempt to download updates via ftp links on the plugins page, I get a connection timeout. This is the second time I have tried to do this, both times on weekends (in case that is significant). Also, I am in Australia (again, in case that is significant).

    Thank you for any assistance.
    John
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    Sorry about that!

    lucky.syr.edu was getting beat up by hackers in Asia so I installed some firewall rules blocking many IPs managed by APNIC. If you post an IP address or range of addresses, I'll disable the appropriate rule.
     
  3. jmcm

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Vince

    Thought something like that might be the case, vaguely remember you discussing it with someone from eastern Europe a few years ago.

    My current IP is 110.143.141.253. As my provider is a large Telco in Australia, you may be able to determine a range from that individual IP.

    Thanks,
    John
    (Also Win7 Pro 32 SP1)
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks, John. It should work now.
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    P.S., It's hard to block IPs selectively. Here's just part of 110.*.*.*
    Code:
    110.93.112.0 - 110.93.191.255 KR
    110.93.192.0 - 110.93.255.255 PK
    110.94.0.0 - 110.127.255.255 CN
    110.128.0.0 - 110.135.255.255 JP
    110.136.0.0 - 110.139.255.255 ID
    110.140.0.0 - 110.151.255.255 AU
    110.152.0.0 - 110.157.255.255 CN
    110.158.0.0 - 110.158.255.255 JP
    110.159.0.0 - 110.159.255.255 MY
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    I apologize! It was blocked by the firewall and also the FTP server itself. I removed the second block. It should be OK now.
     
  7. jmcm

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Vince, I have them now.

    John
     
  8. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem.
     
  9. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    Tell me an IP address or a range of IPs so I can unblock them.
     
  10. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Same problem when I'm at the office. IP 216.15.121.174.
     
  11. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    Hi, Dave.

    There's a lot of good stuff in the 216 class A network (Google, Amazon, ...). It's not blocked by either my FTP server or by my firewall. My best guess is a firewall on your end, possibly a restriction imposed by your employer.

    My FTP logs go back a year ... long before I implemented any firewall rules. They show no connections from anyone in 216.15.*.*.
     
  12. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    My mistake. There are lots of connections from your address, the most recent being on June 16.

    But all the other things I said seem to be true. It's not blocked. I left a sniffer going, targeting 216.15. It'll see stuff before the server or the firewall. Please try again, today or tomorrow.

    Edit: When you do, note the exact time.
     
    #12 vefatica, Jul 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016
  13. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I looked at firefox/google 'ip address' and got 121.208.242.48. However, the ipconfig.exe returns an ip6 address.
     
  14. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    Should work now.
     
  15. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Vince, I'll try it again on Wednesday (next time I'm there). Meanwhile, I've noticed that I can't connect from home, either. My home IP address is not static, but it should stay in the 104.153.*.* range.
    It's been 104.153.40.9 for a couple of months.
     
  16. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can'/t access it either: ipconfig gives:


    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2606:a000:4d03:2300:85e9:cfb8:713a:176e
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2606:a000:4d03:2300:d4f5:8648:64c7:f835
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::85e9:cfb8:713a:176e%12
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5665:deff:fee4:4377%12
    192.168.0.1
     
  17. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    39
    Would it be helpful if I were to mirror parts of Lucky on my own server?
     
  18. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    That doesn't help. 192.168.*.* are non-routable IPs ... that specific IP was, no doubt, given to your computer by a router or modem. For me to investigate, I'll need the IP address of the router/modem ... the address your router/modem gets from your ISP ... the IP address that the outside world sees.

    I have no personal experience with routers, but I know they typically act as firewalls.
     
  19. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would I get that information? I am on RR/TWC......

    It's:
    ARRIS MTA
    MAC Address: 5465DEE44372
     
  20. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    I don't know. Don't you know how to connect to/configure your router? Here's a guess:
    Code:
    http://192.168.0.1
     
  21. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    39
    A site like http://whatismyipaddress.com/ should report your router's address.
     
  22. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
  23. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
  24. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    OK. I know next to nothing about IPv6. But I enabled it on both Windows and the FTP server. Let me know if that made a difference.
     
  25. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Code:
    k> ping  lucky.syr.edu
    
    Pinging lucky.syr.edu [128.230.13.209] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    
    Ping statistics for 128.230.13.209:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    
    (%?=1, %_?=0)
    
     
  26. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    Hmmm! Lucky's IP has changed. I have to look into that?
     
  27. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    Well no; lucky's IP hasn't changed. It's 128.230.13.36 (as it has always been).
    Code:
    v:\> echo %_winname
    LUCKY
    
    v:\> echo %_ip
    128.230.13.36
    My employer's DNS must be screwed up.
     
  28. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD20]C:\Windows\system32\PING.EXE lucky.syr.edu

    Pinging lucky.syr.edu [128.230.13.209] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 128.230.13.209:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD20]echo %_ip
    192.168.0.2
     
  29. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    What's your point?

    Try ftp://128.230.13.36
     
  30. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    that works fine.... excpet rather use letters - not numbers
     

Share This Page