1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Caps lock issue in TCC9

Discussion in 'Support' started by WavSlave, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. WavSlave

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    (TCC 9.02.155, Win XP Pro SP3)

    Hi, folks.

    I just noticed something that I don't recall seeing before and wanted to see if my experience is unique or not.

    When I have the Caps Lock turned on, holding either Shift key down does NOT allow me to temporarily produce lowercase characters as I would expect. Every character I type (meaning A-Z) appears in uppercase unless and until I turn the Caps Lock off.

    I do get the expected behavior in CMD, 4NT8, 4DOS, all Windows apps and everything else I tried so I don't suspect a hardware or driver issue. Only TCC9 is giving me this trouble. (Sorry, but I don't have a copy of TCC10 to try and I'd rather not downgrade to an earlier build of TCC9 at this time.)

    Can anybody else confirm or deny this issue?

    Thanks for any feedback.
     
  2. vpdura

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    On Wed, 18 Mar 2009 06:06:33 -0500, WavSlave <>
    wrote Re [Support-t-1061] Caps lock issue in TCC9:


    Confirmed with TCC 9.02.151 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    --
    At first they laugh at you, then they ignore you, then they fight you, then you win.
     
  3. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    4NT 9.00.64 worked -- gave lower case with caps lock and shift. 9.00.66 did not.

    It appears 66 followed on the heels of a fix for "problems with
    KEYSTACK sending keystrokes to a 4NT window"

    --
    Jim Cook
    2009 Saturdays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Sunday.
     
  4. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have verified that the caps lock and shift keys interact as you described on both TCC v10 and TCC v9. I had never noticed that before. Personally, I think it's the CORRECT behavior, but then I learned to type on a mechanical typewriter and learned to release the SHIFT LOCK key in order to type a lowercase letter.
     
  5. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    dcantor wrote:
    | ---Quote (Originally by WavSlave)---
    | (TCC 9.02.155, Win XP Pro SP3)
    | When I have the Caps Lock turned on, holding either Shift key down
    | does NOT allow me to temporarily produce lowercase characters as I
    | would expect. Every character I type (meaning A-Z) appears in
    | uppercase unless and until I turn the Caps Lock off.
    | ---End Quote---
    | I have verified that the caps lock and shift keys interact as you
    | described on both TCC v10 and TCC v9. I had never noticed that
    | before. Personally, I think it's the CORRECT behavior, but then I
    | learned to type on a mechanical typewriter and learned to release the
    | SHIFT LOCK key in order to type a lowercase letter.

    I, too, would generally prefer a SHIFT LOCK key. There have been products
    (free or otherwise) to allow that. What's bad about the issue is that the
    CAPS LOCK key "on" still affects only the alphabetic keys, which the SHIFT
    key cannot temporarily reverse, but the keys for non-letters behave
    identically regardless of the CAPS LOCK state.
    --
    Steve
     
  6. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    You're in luck! Well, if you're handy with a soldering iron :-)

    http://symlink.dk/projects/c64key/
     
  7. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or you could just download the MS Keyboard Layout Creator and remap the keyboard: http://preview.tinyurl.com/csv7sg (requires .net 2.0)

    To get shift-lock functionality, import your current keyboard and turn on CAPS=SHIFT for anything you want to be shifted with caps-lock (I'd upload one but even with ia64 removed, it's still too big to upload.)
     

Share This Page