1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying Take Command installed folder

Discussion in 'Support' started by p.f.moore, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. p.f.moore

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    I want to take a backup of my Take Command installation (program
    folder, 4START, aliases files, plugins, etc). Without wanting to start
    a flamewar, I keep all my files (ini file, etc) in the program
    directory - I am not on Vista and this approach works fine for me.

    If I simply copy my program folder, and later (say, when I have a
    problem and have to reinstall the OS) copy it back and run tcmd.exe
    from there, will things work as expected? I know I'll need to
    reregister the program, and I'll lose window position settings and the
    like, but will such things as auto-update work?

    Thanks,
    Paul.
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    Likes Received:
    80
    p.f.moore wrote:

    Yes, barring things like the batch file associations, Explorer context
    menu entries, window state/order/size/position, theme, skin, and any
    shortcut keys. The autoupdate will still work as long as the .aiu file
    is still there.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. p.f.moore

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    2008/7/5 rconn <>:

    But presumably if I need to do an OS wipe & reinstall, the .aiu file
    gets lost. Is there any way of recovering autoupdate in that situation
    other than reinstalling?

    Paul.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    Likes Received:
    80
    p.f.moore wrote:

    Why would it be lost? You said you were backing up the installation
    directory, which includes the .aiu file.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. p.f.moore

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    2008/7/5 rconn <>:

    Am I missing something? My TCMD9 installation directory doesn't
    include a .aiu file. I thought it went somewhere in the bowels of the
    "Application Data" tree...


    Volume in drive C is Windows Serial number is b087:e240
    Directory of C:\Apps\TCMD9\*

    05/07/2008 16:16 <DIR> .
    05/07/2008 16:16 <DIR> ..
    05/07/2008 16:16 <DIR> Styles
    01/06/2008 08:41 79,160 4nt.exe
    18/01/2008 11:24 9,461 BATCH.BCP
    01/06/2008 08:41 215,352 Bchild.dll
    01/06/2008 08:41 454,968 English.dll
    19/02/2008 23:36 20,342 examples.btm
    01/06/2008 08:41 570,680 French.dll
    09/03/2008 20:42 0 FTP.CFG
    01/06/2008 08:41 569,144 German.dll
    10/04/2008 13:04 652,752 ipworks6.dll
    10/04/2008 13:38 579,024 ipwssl6.dll
    14/04/2008 21:41 9,446 license.txt
    01/06/2008 08:41 312,632 onig.dll
    03/05/2008 23:26 6,295 readme.txt
    01/06/2008 08:41 14,136 ShrAlias.exe
    01/06/2008 08:41 832,312 TakeCmd.dll
    01/06/2008 08:41 79,160 tcc.exe
    03/05/2008 13:21 984 tccbatch.btm
    03/05/2008 13:29 1,154 tcchere.btm
    29/05/2008 09:06 1,589,774 tcmd.chm
    01/06/2008 08:41 2,795,320 tcmd.exe
    04/07/2008 23:03 339 TCMD.gpf
    05/07/2008 20:15 2,731 TCMD.INI
    03/05/2008 13:29 1,188 tcmdhere.btm
    15/02/2008 23:22 622 TCSTART.BTM
    01/06/2008 08:41 287,032 updater.exe
    05/07/2008 16:16 312 updater.ini
    01/06/2008 08:41 230,712 WiFiMan.dll
    9,315,032 bytes in 27 files and 3 dirs 9,383,936 bytes allocated

    Looking at updater.ini, the .aiu file is in C:\Documents and
    Settings\Gustav\Application Data\JP Software\Take Command
    9.02\updates\, which would be trashed by a reinstall.

    Paul.
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Sat, 05 Jul 2008 18:05:34 -0500, you wrote:


    Here, it's in the profiles tree.

    ...\Application Data\JP Software\<product>\updates\tcmdupdate.aiu
     
  7. p.f.moore

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    2008/7/6 vefatica <>:


    Exactly. So if I don't back that up (and hence, it gets lost) will
    autoupdate still work, or do I need to do a full reinstall?

    Paul.
     
  8. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    p.f.moore wrote:
    | ---Quote---
    || Here, it's in the profiles tree.
    ||
    || ...\Application Data\JP Software\<product>\updates\tcmdupdate.aiu
    | ---End Quote---
    | Exactly. So if I don't back that up (and hence, it gets lost) will
    | autoupdate still work, or do I need to do a full reinstall?

    If you don't back up the profiles tree, all installation information of all
    installed programs is lost, including most or all internet connection data
    (Firefox preferences and passwords, Thunderbird and Outlook Express
    identities, etc. Of course the same is true for the registry.
    --
    Steve
     
  9. p.f.moore

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    2008/7/6 Steve Fábián <>:

    By adhering to a policy of avoiding as much as possible programs which
    store configuration information and user preferences in the registry
    and profiles tree, I minimise the amount of reinstallation and
    reconfiguration I have to do on an OS installation. Microsoft doesn't
    agree with this policy, but I don't agree with some of the things they
    do, either :-)

    I like to wipe and reinstall my OS fairly frequently. The worst part
    of this is not the OS install, nor the recovery of my data - it's
    reconfiguring all the applications that I have to reinstall from
    scratch. Applications which can be backed up and restored like data
    make this process far easier.

    My dislike of the profiles tree is that it is as much an unstructured,
    opaque blob of data as the registry ever was. Worse still, it's big
    (it includes "My Documents", and hence "My Pictures" and "My Videos")
    and large chunks of it which I am expected to care about are hidden
    (for example, the appdata bit, as we are discussing here). I would
    never organise my data like this, and I resent being forced to do so
    by the OS.

    Ultimately, however, why I want to do this (and whether it's a good
    idea or not) is irrelevant. My question is simply if autoupdate will
    break if the .aui file is lost (and another thread here, where someone
    reported that it had got corrupted and he removed it and things
    started working again, seems to establish that it won't break).

    Paul.
     
  10. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    Likes Received:
    80
    p.f.moore wrote:


    Take Command rebuilds tcmdupdate.aiu if it's missing.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  11. DMcCunney

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    3
    2008/7/6 Steve Fábián <>:


    Note that Mozilla programs can be told *where* to put the profile
    data, when you create a profile in Profile Manager.

    I have multiple Mozilla based products installed, with multiple
    profiles for some of them, customized for different purposes. To make
    maintenance simpler. I created a \Mozilla directory, with folders
    beneath if to bookmarks, extensions, themes, install packages, and
    profiles. New profile instances get created under
    \Mozilla\Profiles\<product>\<version>\<profile name>

    It makes keeping track and maintenance much simpler.


    ______
    Dennis
     
  12. DMcCunney

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    3
    On Sun, Jul 6, 2008 at 12:00 PM, p.f.moore <> wrote:


    You aren't, entirely. For instance, right-click on teh My Documents
    icon on your desktop, and select Properties. You can specify the
    location of the My Documents folder, and don't *have* to place it in
    the profiles tree.

    Agreed in general, however. Back in the MS-DOS days, I went through
    some effort to use a Unix like filesystem layout. that's not quite
    possible under Windows.


    ______
    Dennis
     
  13. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    p.f.moore wrote:
    | By adhering to a policy of avoiding as much as possible programs which
    | store configuration information and user preferences in the registry
    | and profiles tree, I minimise the amount of reinstallation and
    | reconfiguration I have to do on an OS installation. Microsoft doesn't
    | agree with this policy, but I don't agree with some of the things they
    | do, either :-)

    I personally hate the registry concept. It becomes too big too quickly, and
    requires special tools to remove deadwood. However, I do agree the Vista
    concept that directories containing executable programs should not contain
    dynamic data. In fact, I would preferrably extend this to physical drives.
    In almost every file system I've come across in my nearly 50 years in the IT
    world, only one of the Data General file systems had modes in which file
    sets could be restricted to a single contiguous part of a drive, somewhat
    analogously to partitioning. But neither partitioning nor the DG contiguous
    allocation prevent a transient single bit error in the hardware-level disk
    address to cause accessing, and possibly overwriting, the incorrect disk
    location. That's why data and code ought to be on separate drives.

    | I like to wipe and reinstall my OS fairly frequently. The worst part
    | of this is not the OS install, nor the recovery of my data - it's
    | reconfiguring all the applications that I have to reinstall from
    | scratch. Applications which can be backed up and restored like data
    | make this process far easier.

    ... and this is true even if the configuration control files reside
    separately from the program files, as long as they can be easily located to
    be backed up.

    | My dislike of the profiles tree is that it is as much an unstructured,
    | opaque blob of data as the registry ever was. Worse still, it's big
    | (it includes "My Documents", and hence "My Pictures" and "My Videos")
    | and large chunks of it which I am expected to care about are hidden
    | (for example, the appdata bit, as we are discussing here). I would
    | never organise my data like this, and I resent being forced to do so
    | by the OS.

    You can easily unhide everything using TCC (or 4nt, or even TCCLE). Others
    posted responses relating to the "My ..." stuff. I never use them myself,
    anyway!
    --
    Steve
     
  14. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    DMcCunney wrote:
    | Note that Mozilla programs can be told *where* to put the profile
    | data, when you create a profile in Profile Manager.

    Thanks! I didn't know that. Can an existing profile be moved to a new
    location?

    | I have multiple Mozilla based products installed, with multiple
    | profiles for some of them, customized for different purposes. To make
    | maintenance simpler. I created a \Mozilla directory, with folders
    | beneath if to bookmarks, extensions, themes, install packages, and
    | profiles. New profile instances get created under
    | \Mozilla\Profiles\<product>\<version>\<profile name>

    Is that done so automatically?

    | It makes keeping track and maintenance much simpler.

    It sure does, esp. when migrating to a new system, or when changing the
    drive configuration. It may even allow me to run Firefox on another user's
    machine from a USB drive...
    --
    Steve
     
  15. joshjeppson

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want to run Firefox from a USB stick, there are specific portable builds of it that you can use.

    For example, the very first google result for "portable firefox":
    http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable


    - Josh
     
  16. Mr. Jiggs

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a "portable" version of Firefox already
    available at http://portableapps.com/news/2008-06-17_-_firefox_portable_3.0



    mr.Jiggs


    Steve F&aacute;bi&aacute;n wrote:




    DMcCunney wrote:
    | Note that Mozilla programs can be told *where* to put the profile
    | data, when you create a profile in Profile Manager.

    Thanks! I didn't know that. Can an existing profile be moved to a new
    location?

    | I have multiple Mozilla based products installed, with multiple
    | profiles for some of them, customized for different purposes. To make
    | maintenance simpler. I created a \Mozilla directory, with folders
    | beneath if to bookmarks, extensions, themes, install packages, and
    | profiles. New profile instances get created under
    | \Mozilla\Profiles\\\

    Is that done so automatically?

    | It makes keeping track and maintenance much simpler.

    It sure does, esp. when migrating to a new system, or when changing the

    drive configuration. It may even allow me to run Firefox on another
    user's
    machine from a USB drive...
    --
    Steve
     
  17. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    joshjeppson wrote:
    | ---Quote (Originally by Steve Fábián)---
    | It may even allow me to run Firefox on another user's machine from a
    | USB drive... ---End Quote---
    |
    | If you want to run Firefox from a USB stick, there are specific
    | portable builds of it that you can use.
    |
    | For example, the very first google result for "portable firefox":
    | http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable

    Thanks!
    --
    Steve
     
  18. DMcCunney

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    3
    2008/7/6 Steve Fábián <>:

    Probably. First, you need to pick up the profile tree and copy it to
    the desired location. Firefox uses a file called profile.ini to
    discover where the profile tree for the selected profile lives when
    you run it. You'll need to edit that to reflect the new location.
    See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profiles.ini_file for details.

    I use shortcuts to run profiles, with Target: lines like "D:\Program
    Files\Mozilla.org\Firefox\Firefox.exe -p "Dennis McCunney" to specify
    the profile I wish to use.

    An alternative method is to invoke Program Manager, and *delete* the
    profile you want to move. Profile Manager will ask you if you want to
    delete the associated files. Say No. Then create a new profile with
    the same name, specifying where you want it to reside. Don't invoke
    Firefox after doing so. Exit Profile manager, and copy the contents
    of the old profile tree, lock, stock, and barrel over the new profile
    tree that was created to migrate files and settings. *Now* run
    Firefox using the desired profile. After verifying all is well,
    delete the original profile tree.

    One annoyance for me with Firefox 3: I have multiple Mozilla based
    browsers, with multiple profiles. I wanted them all to use the *same*
    bookmarks file. Under FF2 and earlier, that was easy. Mozilla
    products use a file called prefs.js in the profile directory to hold
    configuration information, and prefs.js includes a pointer to the
    bookmarks.html file the browsers uses to store bookmarks. Prefs.js is
    created and maintained by the browser, and should not be edited.
    Instead, create a file called user.js in the profile directory. The
    browser doesn't modify it. But if it exists, it will be read, and
    settings specified in it will override what is in prefs.js. A one
    line user.js file containing

    user_pref("browser.bookmarks.file", "D:\\Mozilla\\Bookmarks\\Dennis
    McCunney\\bookmarks.html");

    did the trick. I copied it into each profile directory I created, the
    browsers read it, and they all used that file. (Problems could result
    if more than one browser were active at a time, but I didn't do that.)

    FF3 replaces bookmarks.html with a database file called
    places.sqilite. There is no preference to let you specify where it
    lives. This has been complained about, but the Mozilla devs classify
    it as a WONTFIX.

    To work around it, I had to drop to the OS level. NTFS 5 supports
    hard links ala Unix, so I created links in each profile directory for
    FF3 to the desired file. There is also a preference you can set in
    about:config to force Firefox to dump the sqlite database to a
    bookmarks.html file on shutdown. I turned that on, and FF dumps the
    file in the location pointed to by the user.js file, so if I run FF2,
    Mozilla Suite, Netscape, or Flock, they will see the current version.
    It's one way, alas, but I can live with that.

    Hard links can't span file systems, so if I want the places.sqlite
    file to live on a different drive, I'd have to create the profiles
    there. It's possiblle symbolic links would work, but I can't test it.
    True symbolic links aren't supported in NTFS unless you run Vista.
    I'm running XP Pro SP3, with *no* plans to "upgrade".

    Using sqlite as the file format has all sorts of neat possibilities.
    and you can run SQL queries on it. There are several freeware GUI
    clients for investigating and tweaking sqlite databases, and one has
    even been implemented as a Firefox addon. You can't use it to diddle
    the current places file, since that is locked when FF is running, but
    you can use it to investigate the other sqlite files FF creates in
    addition to the places file.


    No, manually. I run Firefox as "firefox.exe -p" to invoke the Profile
    Manager. (Actually, I have a shortcut that does it. The same syntax
    works for other Mozilla products - just change the exe name as
    appropriate.)

    Profile Manager asks for a name for the profile, and in the next field
    you can specify where to put it.


    Yes, if you don't mind a major performance hit. There are some
    pre-packaged portable Firefox builds you might want to look at.


    ______
    Dennis
     
  19. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the nice exposition. I have another Firefox 3 question: I
    suggested back in FF1 days that the profile support separate "default
    download directories" for different URLs. My request was ignored. If they
    can store separate form-fill (e.g., username and password) information for
    each URL, why not download directories? Can you suggest a method to achieve
    this goal?
    --
    Steve
     
  20. DMcCunney

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    3
    2008/7/11 Steve Fábián <>:

    Not offhand. What *I'd* like would be different download directories
    by content type. (Your suggestion would be useful too, thinking about
    it, given what I download. It would be nice if DLs from, say, Project
    Gutenberg, always defaulted to the \Ebooks hierarchy on a secondary
    drive.)

    I'd suggest stopping by the Extensions forum at Mozillazine.com and
    inquiring. If such a thing exists, folks there would know about it.
    If not, an extension author might get inspired.


    ______
    Dennis
     

Share This Page