1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Desktop hotkey creation using SHORTCUT command

Discussion in 'Support' started by Steve Fabian, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    WinXP allows hotkeys for desktop shortcuts to include all three modifiers:
    alt, control, and shift. The display mode of the SHORTCUT command reports
    them correctly, but it cannot create them, nor does it report an error.
    Please fix ASAP! I've recently switched from alt-ctrl to alt-ctrl-shft
    hotkeys to avoid interference with a variety of programs, and also foreign
    keyboards, the latter of which use the alt-control combination to generate
    non-ASCII characters.
    --
    Steve
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,091
    Likes Received:
    85
    SHORTCUT already allows Alt-, Ctrl-, and Shift- modifiers (though Windows will not accept some combinations).
     
  3. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    rconn wrote:
    | SHORTCUT already allows Alt-, Ctrl-, and Shift- modifiers (though
    | Windows will not accept some combinations).

    But not all three modifiers together! I was able to create my desired
    shortcuts with the desired hotkeys using Windows Explorer, and both their
    operation and their analysis by SHORTCUT is correct. However, the typical
    command line below did not create a shortcut file (all on one line, of
    course):

    shortcut "F:\JPSOFT\K09\tcc.exe" "/@F:\JPSOFT\V09.INI" "F:\JPSOFT"
    "Interpreter" "C:\Documents and Settings\ESF2\desktop\JP I09 acsA.lnk" 3
    "F:\JPSOFT\K09\tcc.exe" 0 Alt-Ctrl-Shft-A

    I used a secoundary, administrator account, with an empty desktop for the
    test. Tried in with V10.0.76 and V11.0.22.
    --
    Steve
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,091
    Likes Received:
    85
    You spelled "Shift-" wrong.

    TCC just passes the requested hotkey to IShellLink::SetHotkey; it's up to
    Windows whether it'll take the key.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    rconn wrote:
    | You spelled "Shift-" wrong.

    Ah! Sorry, that was indeed the problem.
    --
    Steve
     

Share This Page