1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WAD dir "ftp:// ..." fails in TCC 15

Discussion in 'Support' started by dcantor, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Code:
    *dir /a:-d /[!.*] /k /m /o-d "ftp://ftp.jpsoft.com/plugins/" > x.txt
    
    works in TCC v 14, but fails in TCC v 15 under Windows XP Pro SP3.

    The error is
    Code:
    TCC: (Sys) The system cannot find the file specified.
     "ftp://ftp.jpsoft.com/plugins/"
    
    It's not just ftp.jpsoft.com; it happens with any ftp:// target.
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,962
    Likes Received:
    30
    It's OK here but Win7 did ask if I wanted to allow TCC to do it. Do you have any firewall involved?

    Code:
    v:\> dir /a:-d /[!.*] /k /m /o-d "ftp://ftp.jpsoft.com/plugins/" > jpplugs.txt
     
    v:\> type jpplugs.txt
    2011-03-05  00:00        103,381  inputloop.zip
    2011-03-05  00:00              0  index.html
    2011-03-05  00:00      2,504,430  fedutils9.zip
    2011-03-05  00:00          12,199  everything.zip
    2011-03-05  00:00          45,472  event11.zip
     
  3. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Versions 14 and 15 running under the same conditions, with AVG 2013 free edition. My web browser (Firefox) is also able to open the remote directory without a problem.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,863
    Likes Received:
    83
    Not reproducible here -- tried it on 4 systems without any problems. (That code has not changed in v15.)

    I suspect something on your system is blocking TCC -- did you check your Windows Firewall settings?
     
  5. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, I checked the firewall settings -- it's AVG Free edition. Leaving the settings alone, I can do this running TCC v 14, but it fails in TCC v 15, without changing any settings.
    Turning the firewall off, it still works in TCC v14, and still fails in TCC v15.
     
  6. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Further tests:

    Running TCC v 15 --

    Code:
    "%_tccpath\..\TCMD14\TCC.EXE" /c *dir /a:-d /[!.*] /k /m /o-d "ftp://ftp.jpsoft.com/plugins/" > x.txt
    
    works.

    Both TCC 14 and TCC 15 use the same TCSTART.BTM .

    I'm stumped.
     
  7. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    I found that starting a new instance of TCC with
    Code:
    "%comspec" /i /c *dir  ....(and the rest)
    
    works. So, I conclude that there must be some variable, plugin, or function that's getting in the way and causing the error.
    So, Rex, you can remove the Bug tag from this topic if you wish.
     
  8. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Unchecking Passive FTP in the Option > Internet dialog seems to have helped.
     

Share This Page