1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

everything.exe .vs. new installs

Discussion in 'Support' started by Charles G, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like after every new build I install I need to do

    c:\>everything /o

    and reset the options I want. Any ideas how I can get around not having to do this again?
     
  2. djspits

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the same problem.

    During each install everything.ini is overwritten. One of the apparently default values is "run_as_admin=1" which causes the access permission dialog to appear after every reboot.

    Please advice.

    Best regards, DJ
     
    #2 djspits, Oct 14, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2016
  3. evensenm

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Usually I just keep a backup copy of my everything.ini file in a different directory, so I can copy it back to %appdata%\Everything\ later. After an upgrade, it seems like Everything Options does not default to using %appdata%\Everything\ for storing its .INI file. I make sure I have a backup of the .INI first, then I choose the option to use the %appdata%\Everything path and then hit OK, then I completely exit out of Everything (File -> Exit, not just simply clicking on the X), then copy my backup .INI file back and overwriting the new one just created by Everything, then starting Everything again (everything /o). Everything should be back again, although you might need to "Force Rebuild" the database again, and also double check that the "Run at startup", "Run as administrator", and "Run as service" options are set back to the way you want them.
     
  4. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installing a new build of TCMD doesn't modify or delete the tcmd.ini - so why can't the same be true for everyting.ini - except it's by a different party.....
     
  5. MaartenG

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    8
    A fresh installation doesn't install a TCMD.ini. It is generated later on (when starting TCMD).
    Apparently this [title] didn't do the trick.

    In the installer script there are some possibilitie to fix this. The easiest one would be:
    Install everything.ini.ORG (instead of everything.ini) and create a custom action: if not exist everything.ini copy everything.ini.ORG everything.ini (translated to batch)
     

Share This Page