1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help pages, icon missing

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Dec 30, 2015.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,888
    Likes Received:
    30
    Whenever I go to the help via HELP or F1, at first the icon for "JP Software Website" is missing.
    upload_2015-12-30_14-59-13.png
    Refreshing (F5) doesn't help, but navigating to another page gets the icon to show properly.
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,888
    Likes Received:
    30
    I should have noted that this only happens when I go to the help from TCMD. It does not happen if I go there from a console.
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,809
    Likes Received:
    82
    Not reproducible here.

    As I've mentioned before, this is Microsoft's app, not mine. Perhaps if you updated your Windows environment ...
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,888
    Likes Received:
    30
    The icon appears correctly when I use TCMD's "Help" menu to invoke the CHM.
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,809
    Likes Received:
    82
    The icon is in the .CHM file; it is not specified in the call to htmlhelp. The only difference in the way htmlhelp is invoked is that there isn't any argument passed when you do it from the help menu.

    It's still a Microsoft issue, not TCMD. If you update your IE version you'll find all kinds of things suddenly work better!
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,888
    Likes Received:
    30
    IIRC, the last time I tried, it broke things so I reverted to IE8. What's the current IE?
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,809
    Likes Received:
    82
    The last IE is 11. The current Microsoft browser is Edge.
     
  8. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,888
    Likes Received:
    30
    When the help opens with the icon working, HH was started with (the likes of):
    Code:
    "C:\Windows\hh.exe" G:\tc19\TCMD.CHM::/overview.htm
    When the help opens with the icon not working, HH was started with (the likes of):
    Code:
    "C:\Windows\hh.exe" G:\tc19\TCMD.CHM::/G:\tc19\TCMD.CHM::/overview.htm
    The same happens when those two command lines are executed in TCC (in a tab or not). The first shows the icon; the second doesn't.

    I couldn't find examples of the syntax in the second command line above.
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,809
    Likes Received:
    82
    You need to be reporting this to Microsoft; I do not have source code for hh.exe or IE.
     

Share This Page