1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to copy to folder where I need admin rights

Discussion in 'Support' started by covici, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. covici

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I am using windows 7 rc and Take command 9.02. What I would like to do is to copy to a folder, but the message I get is access denied. I can copy fine with windows explorer without even getting the uac prompt, so what could be the problem here?

    Thanks much.
     
  2. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2009-06-26 09:56, covici wrote:

    UAC in Windows 7 has been revamped, so it won't bother you anymore for fairly regular stuff, such as mucking around in \Program Files.

    In this case, I suspect you just need to start Take Command in elevated mode.
     
  3. covici

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I tried running take command as administrator, but I get the same result. I would actually like to do this in a .btm file, but there seems to be no way to run a .btm fileas administrator -- windows keeps asking me what program to use to open it, and I tried tcc.exe with not the desired result.
     
  4. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2009-06-26 12:47, covici wrote:

    Can you please echo the value of %_ELEVATED on your command line and/or btm file?
     
  5. covici

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    if I type echo %_ELEVATED it just says echo and echo off on the next line. This is true even if I run take command in administrator mode. Turning echo on makes no difference.
     
  6. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2009-06-26 15:16, covici wrote:

    Sorry, I had not read your original post thoroughly enough... You are using v9, so this won't have the _ELEVATED internal variable. I'm at a loss as to what goes wrong here, unfortunately.
     

Share This Page