Install Question

  • This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

samintz

Scott Mintz
May 20, 2008
1,228
11
Solon, OH, USA
#1
I notice that whenever I install a newer version of Tcmd V10 the installer does not remember where I installed it previously. I assume this is due to the fact that I chose not to remove older versions - i.e. side-by-side install.

However, I have 3 other versions of 4NT that I *need* to keep around. I have 4NT v3.02, 4NT 8.02, and 4DOS v7.50. Along side TC v10.0.

If I choose the option that will remove older versions, will I remove the ones I want to keep? Or will it only remove the previous version of TC 10? I have been afraid to select the "remove" option for fear that it would remove the versions I want to keep around.

-Scott
 

rconn

Administrator
Staff member
May 14, 2008
10,163
86
#2
samintz wrote:

> I notice that whenever I install a newer version of Tcmd V10 the installer does not remember where I installed it previously. I assume this is due to the fact that I chose not to remove older versions - i.e. side-by-side install.
>
> However, I have 3 other versions of 4NT that I *need* to keep around. I have 4NT v3.02, 4NT 8.02, and 4DOS v7.50. Along side TC v10.0.
>
> If I choose the option that will remove older versions, will I remove the ones I want to keep? Or will it only remove the previous version of TC 10? I have been afraid to select the "remove" option for fear that it would remove the versions I want to keep around.
There is no way for the installer to know which existing directory to
use if you choose side-by-side. If you choose the option to remove
older versions, it will not remove older v10's (it already does that in
the side-by-side) -- it will remove a pre-v10 version. Which one is apt
to be semi-random, and out of my control. (Windows Installer will
choose according to its own arcane rules.)

Rex Conn
JP Software