1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installer 20.0.21 on Win7

Discussion in 'Support' started by w_krieger, Oct 1, 2016.

  1. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to run the installer in Win32 - 7.00.7601, by using the 'upgrade' button in the TCC options.

    It seems that the installer will merrily download, but abend with an '0x00000005' permissions error. It does not seem to check and request for admin access.

    After three times of this, and one by downloading the installer without tcc running, i got the hint that the 'admin' mode is required. It installs quite well then,
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,076
    Likes Received:
    30
    My set-up is the same, 32-bit Windows 7. I used "OPTION /U" and it was OK the first time.

    Were you going from build 20 to build 21 (as I was)? Another recent build had some installer difficulties.
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,040
    Likes Received:
    84
    Not reproducible here w/Windows 10 x64.

    This would have to be an issue with either Windows Installer (i.e., Microsoft), or Windows 7 x86 (i.e., Microsoft). Windows Installer is supposed to always start elevated; otherwise it can't write anything to "\program files". But that's a function of Windows Installer, not the installation script or who starts it.
     
  4. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having problems installing b21 over b20 under Win7 - Nothing in the log. I have two Window User Accounts and tried installing (run as admin), under both and both failed. What is the address for the MSI installer please?
     
  5. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    6
  6. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't there some call an install can ask to elevate? I've seen some do it.
     
  7. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to extract the files and just move them to B20 folder? If so, how please?
     
  8. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    6
    Whether this is a good idea without installer? I can't say ...

    However: for special purposes or so, the extracting of a MSI should be not the problem with following syntax:

    msiexec /a FILENAME /qn TARGETDIR="PATH"
     
  9. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    Using the executable installer, it's just
    Code:
    tcmd.exe /extract
    and it will extract all the files into a folder named with a hexadecimal number (mine had 7 characters "7F46F5F", I think it's randomly generated each time).

    edit: seems to be the same each time extracted from a particular version.
    19 - 41EC81A
    20 - 7F46F5F
    21 - DB74D05
    However, your mileage may vary.
     
  10. MaartenG

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    8
    The "install logic" is in the MSI itself. The MSI dictates if it will be runing elevated. It depends on the user's ability to provide the neccessary credentials if the installation will succeed. (There is a group policy to install *every* MSI elevated without asking for credentials, but this is a very bad idea (it will also install any malware without asking ..)

    You can influence under what credentials (a certain part of) the MSI will be installed with properties in the MSI itself, like ALLUSERS and MSIINSTAALPERUSER or by setting to run it elevated:

    MSI_summary.JPG
    (This is 32 bit TCMD.msi build 21)

    The installation itself will be done by MSIEXEC.exe, not by the Windows Installer service (msiserv). It is very common to have multiple msiexec threads running while installing an MSI. If you look, you will see they are running with different credentials.


    There are a lot of reasons why this isn't working. The most likely in this case:
    - Windows Installer service is not running
    - Not allowed to extract the files (access denied)
    - The MSI itself (after just a quick look):
    There are considerable differences in the MSI's between build 20 and build 21. By removing the InstallerAnalytics (the track& trace telemetrics component of Advanced Installer), 32 bit files are installed in a different way in build 21. And I believe Charles G and w_krieger are both running 32 bit Windows. Probably no problems on 64-bit Windows versions.
     
    #10 MaartenG, Oct 4, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2016
  11. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the end, i just downloaded the thing from the jpsoft site like a new install, and installed it as 'run as administrator' mode on the tcmd20.exe file.
     
  12. MaartenG

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    8
    The milage won't vary. This path is hardcoded:
    AI_EXE_EXTRACTION_FOLDER=[AppDataFolder]JP Software\Take Command 20.0 20.0.21.0\install\DB74D05

    Btw: These are the last 7 "numbers" of the ProductCode (every MSI is defined by 3 GUIDS; Product Code is one of them).
    ProductCode={53116897-9EB9-4749-B608-4F6CBDB74D05}

    32-bit and 64-bit MSI are the same in this regard (same paths)
     
  13. MaartenG

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    8
    Good to know; it might help other people with the same troubles.

    (So it probably isn't the 32-bit theory, then ;-)
     
  14. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    64 bit OS - thank you.......
     
  15. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,076
    Likes Received:
    30
    JQS, don't you get rather more of those than you need? I certainly do.
    Code:
    Take Command 18.0 18.00.16\install\B2019DB
    Take Command 18.0 18.00.17\install\7EF8148
    Take Command 18.0 18.00.18\install\6742C17
    Take Command 18.0 18.00.19\install\D7F74C8
    Take Command 18.0 18.00.20\install\BA27C3F
    Take Command 18.0 18.00.22\install\D418B07
    Take Command 18.0 18.00.25\install\514DE0C
    Take Command 18.0 18.00.27\install\B9FD7A9
    Take Command 18.0 18.0.28.0\install\37987B6
    Take Command 18.0 18.0.29.0\install\9F87A97
    Take Command 18.0 18.0.30.0\install\33AC937
    Take Command 18.0 18.0.31.0\install\21C959A
    Take Command 18.0 18.0.32.0\install\6E9079A
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.1.0\install\5EFAD8F
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.2.0\install\C326E11
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.3.0\install\237A964
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.4.0\install\C103C12
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.5.0\install\4477CA7
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.6.0\install\DC1F4B3
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.7.0\install\657FB8B
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.8.0\install\B2364BB
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.9.0\install\D046BCE
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.10.0\install\E6C7F01
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.11.0\install\8303644
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.12.0\install\0D269BC
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.13.0\install\5726348
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.14.0\install\B9D1D86
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.15.0\install\3D8648A
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.16.0\install\21F4820
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.17.0\install\CF9C458
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.18.0\install\FC869B1
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.19.0\install\E3FEA31
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.20.0\install\7191831
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.21.0\install\04BD3F2
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.22.0\install\BA1E5B1
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.23.0\install\0800E89
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.24.0\install\BA54F3B
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.25.0\install\6A4D16B
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.26.0\install\63B1050
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.27.0\install\0CFC4B3
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.28.0\install\091423E
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.29.0\install\23E5599
    Take Command 19.0 19.0.30.0\install\BDAA0DC
    Take Command 19.0 19.1.31.0\install\728E3EC
    Take Command 19.0 19.1.32.0\install\B3F168B
    Take Command 19.0 19.2.34.0\install\9FF8C8F
    Take Command 19.0 19.2.35.0\install\90F5310
    Take Command 19.0 19.2.36.0\install\9AB889A
    Take Command 19.0 19.2.37.0\install\BF50F26
    Take Command 19.0 19.2.38.0\install\8AEAD21
    Take Command 19.0 19.2.39.0\install\E3E6133
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.40.0\install\349F0AE
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.41.0\install\C24CB93
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.43.0\install\F1ABB6C
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.44.0\install\5AC4356
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.45.0\install\92B160A
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.46.0\install\2711204
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.47.0\install\1E59064
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.48.0\install\43AD0D0
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.49.0\install\34C9F37
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.50.0\install\E637B77
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.51.0\install\B5ED1FF
    Take Command 19.0 19.10.52.0\install\4E15C42
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.1.0\install\5803BBA
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.2.0\install\D9B4EAF
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.3.0\install\BA62FF7
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.4.0\install\7B596FD
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.5.0\install\FC2D5C4
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.6.0\install\DB98BC6
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.7.0\install\CD981A4
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.8.0\install\7AE33B2
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.9.0\install\B7C9012
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.10.0\install\FB826B9
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.11.0\install\B8D482D
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.12.0\install\E49F951
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.13.0\install\56693B3
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.14.0\install\B6BB7B2
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.15.0\install\E31E31E
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.16.0\install\C088196
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.17.0\install\7E7043E
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.18.0\install\7AEC3D0
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.19.0\install\41EC81A
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.20.0\install\7F46F5F
    Take Command 20.0 20.0.21.0\install\DB74D05
     
  16. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've been out of the install loop since TC16. I was able to use TC17 by manually extracting and copying the files to a folder (I primarily use it at work; not enough home use to justify purchasing upgrades so I skipped TC18 and TC19). However, now that @MaartenG found the key to getting it working again (manually registering the license dll in HKCU instead letting the installer try to modify HKLM) I've started using it again. I still have to manually extract and copy the files, but I can deal with that, so yes, I still get to see all the folders, but I delete them after the files have been copied out of them.
     
  17. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    I keep all the folders for the main, current version. So for now just the ones that start off with:

    Take Command 20.*

    are kept
     
  18. MaartenG

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    8
    I wrote a script to automate this. Just drag the installer .exe and drop it on this script (or specify it as a command-line parameter) and a few seconds later you're done .

    The primary reason why I wrote it, is that I removed quite some files from the TCMD folder (no need for Russian, etc) to keep it "clean".
    Every new build I had to plough through all the files and copy only the neccessary ones.
    The script will therefor only update the already existing ones (excluding INI-files; they will be preserved).

    It will close opened Take Command applications (after asking).
    The script can not be run from TCC /TCMD (that is like cutting the tree where you sit in (on?)).
     

    Attached Files:

    #18 MaartenG, Oct 6, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
  19. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    The install runs quite well if ye run it as an administrator. What the issue is, is that when you run it from the options box inside tc,exe, you don't get the chance to upgrade the thing to administrator mode.
     
  20. MaartenG

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    8
    My response was aimed at @JohnQSmith as he has no option to run/install anything elevated.
    I think "your" problem is somewhere in the Advanced Installer script, which this method doesn't use.
    Hopefully the installer gets fixed in a next build.
     

Share This Page