1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installer

Discussion in 'Support' started by JohnQSmith, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    I thought I noticed this during the last couple of updates, but verified with the last 15.00.31 update. On 32 bit XP SP3, the installer is adding a Quick Launch bar shortcut even though the option is not selected.
     
  2. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    Been doing it so long (and also a "Start Menu" entry) that I have a batch file to clear them away...
     
  3. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    Wasn't doing it in 14.
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,959
    Likes Received:
    30
    In Win7, I don't even see an option to create a quick-launch (pinned?) shortcut. In fact an upgrade removes my pinned shortcut (didn't do that in the past).
     
  5. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes it did. It has always done that for me. You must be doing something differently now. As I mentioned in another thread, the shortcut doesn't get deleted. But it somehow gets invalidated. So the icon becomes a white square. If I run TCMD from the installer, that shortcut gets highlighted to show the process is active, however the icon is not valid. I have to right-click, unpin, and then re-pin, and it's back. If I attempt to launch TCMD from the invalid shortcut, Windows complains and deletes the shortcut.

    The QuickLaunch toolbar is not the same as a pinned shortcut. There is no QuickLaunch toolbar in Win7.
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    Windows Installer doesn't support a quick-launch shortcut in Vista or later, so it doesn't display the option in anything other than XP.
     
  7. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    15.00.32 still adding shortcut to Quick Launch toolbar.
     
  8. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    15.00.34 still adding shortcut with the box unchecked.
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    It's a Windows Installer issue, and there's nothing that I can do about it. It's been going on for years.
     
  10. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    Worked fine in version 14.
     
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    Apparently only for you ...
     
  12. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    Once again blaming the user...

    It seems quite ironic that you corrected the problem in build 21 due to thread "http://jpsoft.com/forums/threads/tcmd-15-beta-installer.4800/" after initially blaming the installer and saying there was nothing you could do about it.
     
  13. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    ??? That thread doesn't have anything to do with the quick-launch shortcut.

    And I never blamed the user; I've repeatedly said that the problem is with the Windows Installer. For most people it always did that on every previous version; apparently for you it inexplicably worked for a brief time with v14 (though nothing changed in the installer code).
     
  14. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    It doesn't have anything to do with the quick-launch, but it does have to do with not remembering the name of the installed path. This was part of the installer that you said you had no control over, yet you changed some setting in the installer and now it remembers the previous installation path.

    Edit: It's probably not that big of a deal though. I can probably add to my TCSTART a line that will delete the quick-launch shortcut manually like I do the with the non-English languages.
     
  15. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    Not exactly -- what I said in that thread was that I had to annoy either one set of users or the other. I changed the behavior of the installer (to always overwrite the existing minor version), which pleased the users who didn't want to have to select their installation directory from the combo box. And angered the users who wanted to keep each minor version -- admittedly a smaller (but noisy) group.
     

Share This Page