1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

installing to thumbdrive

Discussion in 'Support' started by drrob1, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    I registered v13 and installed it on my winxp sp3 box. Now I would like to install it to a thumbdrive. When I start the installer it asks me if I would like to remove/modify/repair, but it does not ask if I would like to install to a thumbdrive.

    How do I get it to install on a thumbdrive?

    The .pdf doesn't say, or at least I could not find it when I searched for 'removable' or 'usb'

    --rob
     
  2. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    Just copy everything from your program directory to the desired location on the flash drive. The first time you run it from there, it'll give you the opportunity to re-enter your registration info.
     
  3. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    Not going as expected.

    I tried to use the popup dialog to copy to the thumbdrive, k:, on my
    system. I checked copy subdir and make target dir. Was was logged into
    c:\program files\jpsoft. I wanted to run copy tcmd13 contents to K: and
    have the tcmd13 subdir on K:. It all got placed in k:\

    And now when I run it from k:, it popped up asking for my registration
    data. Now it's just staring at me doing nothing.

    The dialog box labeled "Register Take Command" has its 2 fields entered
    (cut & pasted). I'm not getting an error, but I'm not getting a
    successful registration.

    So 2 problems are:
    1) subdir structure I wanted on K: didn't happen as I thought it should.
    2) It won't complete the registration process.

    It seems to me that this installation on a thumbdrive process needs to
    be better documented.





    On 10/16/2011 11:59 AM, Charles Dye wrote:

     
  4. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    reposting. Didn't get an answer



    On 10/16/2011 03:17 PM, drrob1 wrote:

     
  5. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    I for one didn't understand your post. Dialog? What dialog? The COPY /= dialog? If you're using COPY /MD to create the target directory and copy files in one swell foop, remember to terminate the target directory name with a trailing backslash:

    Code:
    copy /md "%@path[%_cmdspec]*" k:\tcmd13\
    
    As for registration, I've never had a problem with it. Does the computer you're doing this on have a working internet connection?
     
  6. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    Cosmetic note to Rex re. the COPY /= dialog: The label for the /H tick box looks a bit odd; it seems you have an ampersand in there and Windows is drawing it as a hotkey hint.
     
  7. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    I recall going away from a similar discussion about a month ago with the
    impression that you can not install TCMD on a removable drive on a computer
    where TCMD is already installed on a fixed drive (i.e., where registration info
    already exists in the registry).

    On Mon, 17 Oct 2011 21:29:37 -0400, Charles Dye <> wrote:

    |---Quote (Originally by drrob1)---
    |reposting. Didn't get an answer
    |---End Quote---
    |I for one didn't understand your post. Dialog? What dialog? The COPY /= dialog? If you're using COPY /MD to create the target directory and copy files in one swell foop, remember to terminate the target directory name with a trailing backslash:
    |
    |
    |Code:
    |---------
    |copy /md "%@path[%_cmdspec]*" k:\tcmd13\
    |---------
    |As for registration, I've never had a problem with it. Does the computer you're doing this on have a working internet connection?
     
  8. Stefano Piccardi

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    2
    At least that's what I had to do to reinstall to a thumbdrive: uninstall from fixed disk then install directly to the thumbdrive and run TCMD, so a TakeCommand13.key file got created in the TCMD folder. The key file is ignored when you run TCMD from a fixed disk; it only matters on a thumbdrive. When the key file is ignored, TCMD looks for registration info in the registry. When registration info isn't found (in the registry or key file) TCMD prompts you to enter your regkey. You always need an internet connection to validate your regkey.
    I'm under the impression that ultimately whether you install to thumbdrive or to fixed disk first doesn't matter, as long as you enter your registration key when requested - should be twice maximum.
    Mind that thumbdrive doesn't mean external USB disk, for which a portable installation isn't allowed.
     
  9. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    Fixed in build 27.

    Now there is no accelerator key for that option; but several others also lack accelerator keys, so I guess that's a deliberate choice.
     
  10. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    I uninstalled from the hard disk, tried to install directly to
    thumbdrive, and same result. It won't register.

    And I thought 3 installs were allowed.


    Rex, feel free to chime in here anytime.





     
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    What *exactly* do you mean by "it won't register"?
     
  12. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    The activation server shows you've registered twice -- on a computer named
    "P5" (on 1/15), and on a removable USB drive (on 10/16).
     
  13. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    I thought I get 3 installs.

    And I uninstalled from P5, as suggested by someone here.

    I tried to use the popup dialog to copy to the thumbdrive, k:, on my
    system. I checked copy subdir and make target dir. Was was logged into
    c:\program files\jpsoft. I wanted to run copy tcmd13 contents to K: and
    have the tcmd13 subdir on K:. It all got placed in k:\

    And now when I run it from k:, it popped up asking for my registration
    data. Now it's just staring at me doing nothing.

    The dialog box labeled "Register Take Command" has its 2 fields entered
    (cut & pasted). I'm not getting an error, but I'm not getting a
    successful registration.

    So 2 problems are:
    1) subdir structure I wanted on K: didn't happen as I thought it should.
    2) It won't complete the registration process.

    It seems to me that this installation on a thumbdrive process needs to
    be better documented.



    On 10/19/2011 12:02 AM, rconn wrote:

     
  14. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    From: rconn
    | Quote:
    || And I thought 3 installs were allowed.
    |
    | The activation server shows you've registered twice -- on a computer
    | named
    | "P5" (on 1/15), and on a removable USB drive (on 10/16).

    Pardon me, but 1/15 was way long before V13... It had to be V12! Doesn't your counter record activations by version?

    This brings up the question when do an N-system license for V12 and an M-system license for V13 "overlap", i.e., when are they not cumulative (license for up to N+M systems)? Reading the V12 and V13 licenses (identical except date), there is nothing prohibiting accumulation, so if I have 3 licenses for V12 and 6 for V13 I could use TCMD on a total of 9 systems. This would be true even for those cases when a customer purchased a 7-system license for V12 just before the release of V13, and received a free 7-system upgrade license for V13, UNLESS the license shipped with the free upgrade includes a special clause restricting it.
    --
    Steve
     
  15. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Are you sure you don't have the popup results window hiding behind another
    window?
     
  16. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    That's a typo; it was on 10/15.


    There is nothing to prevent you from having one set of machines running v12
    and another set running v13. Other than the fact that the v12 users would
    be grumpy.
     
  17. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    Yes. I just checked.



    On 10/19/2011 08:56 AM, rconn wrote:

     
  18. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    no answer. resending



    On 10/19/2011 05:26 PM, drrob1 wrote:

     
  19. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    I've tried this on 8 systems now and cannot reproduce your problems on any of them. The only place that the registration could hang without displaying either a success or error popup is if the http call never returned from Windows. (And unless you've got a seriously mangled Windows, even if you are blocking Internet access, it *has* to return eventually after timing out.)

    I have cleared your two registrations from the registration server (though I'm still mystified why you say you cannot register on a USB drive after you successfully registered on a USB drive on 10/16/2011??). So you now have 3 activations available.

    Now uninstall Take Command 13.0. Then start REGEDIT, go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JP Software, right click on "Take Command 13.0", and delete the key. Install Take Command 13.0 to the USB thumb drive, start it, and enter your activation key. Take Command will attempt to connect to the registration server; if it is successful, it will generate a key file in the Take Command installation directory on the USB drive.

    However -- if you do not have Internet access, you will not be able to register on the USB drive. This is WAD, and there is no workaround.
     
  20. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    I just noticed something that may help.

    Did you test the case in which the thumbdrive does not have a serial number?

    Doing a dir on it give me this text:
    Volume in drive K is unlabeled
    Directory of K:\*

    There is no serial number.

    Doing a dir on a different thumbdrive give me this text:
    Volume in drive L is unlabeled Serial number is 1b09:fd31
    Directory of L:\*

    The thumbdrive I now have as my K drive is branded by Sony and I
    received years ago when a sony TV of mine needed its firmware updated.
    I pushed this into the TV usb (didn't even know TV's had usb before
    this) and the patch ran.

    I want to use this for tcmd because it's only 64 MB in capacity, and I
    cannot do anything else with it.

    Does this help?

    --rob

    On 10/20/2011 02:42 PM, rconn wrote:

     
  21. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    I'd back it up and reformat it.
     
  22. drrob106

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Y.

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4GLTE smartphone

    ----- Reply message -----
    From: "Charles Dye" <>
    To: <rob@drrob1.com>
    Subject: [Support-t-3295] Re: installing to thumbdrive
    Date: Thu, Oct 20, 2011 4:59 pm


    ---Quote (Originally by drrob1)---
    Doing a dir on it give me this text:
    Volume in drive K is unlabeled
    Directory of K:\*

    There is no serial number.
    ---End Quote---
    I'd back it up and reformat it.
     
  23. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    If that's a "Y" = "why", then formatting will probably put a serial number on the USB stick.
    If that's a "Y" = "Yes, I'm going to try that", then we await the results.
     
  24. drrob106

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Y means why.
    Tc still should not fail in this case

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4GLTE smartphone

    ----- Reply message -----
    From: "JohnQSmith" <>
    To: <rob@drrob1.com>
    Subject: [Support-t-3295] Re: installing to thumbdrive
    Date: Thu, Oct 20, 2011 5:22 pm


    ---Quote (Originally by drrob106)---
    Y.
    ---End Quote---
    If that's a "Y" = "why", then formatting will probably put a serial number on the USB stick.
    If that's a "Y" = "Yes, I'm going to try that", then we await the results.
     
  25. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    The USB registration will never, ever, work if your drive does not have a
    serial number.
     
  26. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    Shouldn't it at least error out?




    On 10/20/2011 08:19 PM, rconn wrote:

     
  27. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    It should, but it's hanging inside Windows. So if you want to pursue this
    further, you'll have to take it to Microsoft.
     
  28. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    From: rconn
    | Quote:
    || Shouldn't it at least error out?
    |
    | It should, but it's hanging inside Windows. So if you want to pursue this
    | further, you'll have to take it to Microsoft.

    Could you test for the presence of a serial number on the target drive BEFORE getting that far?
    --
    Steve
     
  29. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have a WD external HD on which I can't install TCMD because Windows does not identify it as removable.

    And I have a "SanDisk" memory stick with no serial number. I guess I can't install there either.

    Am I screwed?
     
  30. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    I plowed thru that and it now works. But it hosed an installation of
    tcmd 12.11

    On the thumbdrive I had 13.0.26. I had it update itself while plugged
    into a computer (WinXP sp3, 32-bit) that has tcmd 12.11 but never had
    any version, beta or final, of tcmd 13.

    The thumbdrive now has build 27 running. I removed it. Now when I try
    to run tcmd 12.11 on this computer, I get the message that I need to
    buy, register, etc. I entered my 12.11 info. Twice. Each time it dies
    with the message:

    Take Command has encountered a problem and needs to close. Blah Blah Blah


    How do I get v 12.11 running again on this machine that never had v 13
    before, but was used to update the thumbdrive?



    Gee, this is fun.




    On 10/20/2011 08:55 PM, rconn wrote:

     

Share This Page