1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IsLicense50.dll failed to register

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,877
    Likes Received:
    30
    ---------------------------
    Take Command 13.04
    ---------------------------
    Module G:\tc13\IsLicense50.dll failed to register. HRESULT -2147024703. Contact your support personnel.
    ---------------------------
    Abort Retry Ignore
    ---------------------------
    Now my registration has expired! That is TCC doesn't work! How do I fix that quickly.

    And I'm getting the UAC prompt when I try to start it.
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,877
    Likes Received:
    30
    And if I try to register it, it just disappears.
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,877
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't know how/why, but starting TCC v12, answering "Yes" to the (unexplained) UAC prompt, and closing it got TCC v13 working correctly again.
     
  4. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Google finds many 0x800700C1 issues. It could have to do with corrupted binaries or not properly registered DLLs.
    I would try a "regsvr32 IsLicense50.dll" or re-install TCC. Or better wait for Rex' answer ;-)
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,877
    Likes Received:
    30
    Similarly on XP: updating to build 58 gave the dll registration failure message ... TCC13 came up unregistered ... trying to register it made it just disappear (unregistered) ... starting/exiting TCC12 fixed it all.
     
  6. Guy Good

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also having the same problem on Windows XP SP3
     
  7. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,877
    Likes Received:
    30
    FWIW, Now, RegEdit shows the only registered IsLicense50.dll is the v12 one. That file is 800KB; the v13 one is 3MB (!!!) and appears to come from a different vendor.
     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    82
    You managed to download build 58 well before it was fully uploaded & announced. That will rarely lead to positive results ...

    I can't reproduce any problem with registering IsLicense50.dll (and the 3mb file is the correct one, has been for the last several builds, and is from the same vendor). The registration (COM) is done by the Windows Installer, though you can also try a manual installation with "regsvr32 islicense50.dll".
     
  9. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,877
    Likes Received:
    30
    When
    If I try that from an elevated TCC I get:

    RegSvr32
    The module "g:\tc13\IsLicense50.dll" may not compatible with the version of Windows that you're running. Check if the module is compatible with an x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of regsvr32.exe.

    OPTION /U should fail if continuing is inappropriate.
     
  10. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,877
    Likes Received:
    30
    On XP I get:

    ---------------------------
    RegSvr32
    ---------------------------
    "d:\TC13\IsLicense50.dll" is not an executable file and no registration
    helper is registered for this file type.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
     
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    82
    Try it again with 13.04.59 (already uploaded).
     
  12. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,877
    Likes Received:
    30
    It's OK now on both machines.
     
  13. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is anything other than IsLicense50.dll different in 59 from 58? On one system (WinXP SP3 home) I had NO issues; on my WinXP SP3 pro (I just copied the files of B58 over B57) I had license issue only the first time I started B58 and it was not fatal. I did have the issue with V12, too; closing both, no more issue with either. Do I need B59?
     
  14. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    82
    No.
     
  15. Guy Good

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    @rconn

    I downloaded the incomplete version 58 because a Check for Updates in the Take Command program showed an updated version was available. Since it showed an update was ready,
    I assumed the website text wasn't updated to reflect the new executable yet. Yes I know what assume stands for :)

    PS: I downloaded version 59 and it installed properly, so the problem is solved here.
    Thank you
     

Share This Page