1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

less pager locks up tcc

Discussion in 'Support' started by p.f.moore, May 14, 2010.

  1. p.f.moore

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    The "less" pager (version 436, the latest version - binary build from http://www.greenwoodsoftware.com/less/) locks up Take Command for me (Version 11.00.48). I'm running on Windows 7 32 bit.

    It's easy to demonstrate, with less in the path, and a text file "a" in the current directory, the command "less a" causes Take Command to lock up (specifically, the tab locks up, I can close that tab if I have multiple tabs).

    As less uses a separate screen buffer for its display, I suspect that's related to the problem. Running less in a TCC window works fine. I get the same behaviour whether my Take Command tab is running TCC or CMD, so it looks like a Take Command issue rather than a TCC one.

    I know I could use list, but (a) I like the features in less, and (b) my muscle memory is programmed to type "less", so I'd mistakenly use it even if I didn't want to...

    Paul.
     
  2. Fross

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello Paul,

    I, too, am a big fan of less and talked to Mark (the author) about this
    exact problem. It's a Windows 7 issue and apparently Mark has no access to
    it and can't debug.

    I'm running Windows7 64bit and have that issue.

    Michael

    On Fri, May 14, 2010 at 5:17 PM, p.f.moore <> wrote:


     
  3. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    | I know I could use list, but (a) I like the features in less, and
    | (b) my muscle memory is programmed to type "less", so I'd mistakenly
    | use it even if I didn't want to...

    As to your second point, it would be trivial to:
    alias less=*list
    and your muscle memory would be properly utilized.
    --
    Steve
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    You cannot run apps in a Take Command window that switch screen buffers.
    It's impossible for Take Command to detect that.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. p.f.moore

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah, OK :(

    Is that documented anywhere? I couldn't spot it.
    Paul.
     
  6. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2010-05-15 00:17, p.f.moore wrote:

    That exact version of less works fine for me in Take Command (also the latest version). It even restores the screen properly after exiting...
     
  7. p.f.moore

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like it's a Win7 issue (from frossm's response below). Are you on another Windows version?

    For what it's worth, I've found that the -X option to less disables the screen buffer switching (it's not obvious from the help that this is what it does). So

    alias less=`less -X`

    does the trick for me.

    Paul
     
  8. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2010-05-15 11:57, p.f.moore wrote:

    Yes, I am on Windows XP x64. I tried it out in Windows 7, and it even manages to crash the Windows Console Host:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: conhost.exe
    Application Version: 6.1.7600.16385
    Application Timestamp: 4a5bc571
    Fault Module Name: msvcrt.dll
    Fault Module Version: 7.0.7600.16385
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4a5bdfbe
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 0000000000001188
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: d5fe
    Additional Information 2: d5fe2002c604b5d9b2799f5eef1b75d7
    Additional Information 3: 806e
    Additional Information 4: 806e6104143c2e0f63067b1dd4406b29

    Looks like a Windows bug to me. :)



    Yes, that also works here, but no screen restoring anymore, of course. Another way to do this is to set the LESS environment variable

    set LESS=-X

    or any other default options you may want to use (I usually use "-i -Q").
     
  9. Fross

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Paul, I'll have to try -X. I didn't know what was causing the crash.
    Thanks!

    Frosty

    On Sat, May 15, 2010 at 8:28 AM, dim <> wrote:


     

Share This Page