1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Make Text In Help File Larger

Discussion in 'Open Forum' started by Joe Caverly, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi,
    As my eyesight continues to get poorer, reading the help files of various applications, including Take Command, is getting more difficult.

    I use the FireFox Web Browser, and am able to use the CTRL + and CTRL - keys to resize the text in the FireFox browser accordingly.

    There is an add-on to FireFox called ChmFox, which allows the viewing of .CHM files in FireFox.

    It is available from (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/chmfox/)

    I can now open the Take Command .chm file;

    (chm:///C:/Program%20Files/JPSoft/TCMD13/tcmd.chm!/overview.htm) and am able to make the text in the file larger, which is easier for me to read. I have the Take Command .chm help file bookmarked in FireFox, making it more easily accesible.

    Just passing this on, as there may be others with poor vision who might find this helpful.

    Joe
     
  2. TEA-Time

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just to add to this.. the CTRL key can also be held while rolling the mouse scroll wheel to zoom.
     
  3. mathewsdw

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, Joe! :) I am one of those people with poor vision.

    However, I downloaded it, I think I installed it, but Firefox doesn't (yet?) recognize "chm:". What am I not doing/doing wrong?
     
  4. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    You have to restart FireFox after the installation of ChmFox.

    Joe
     
  5. mathewsdw

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you again, Joe :) , but this time the smiley face is because of my idiocy. When programs need to be restarted they usually say so, and when I dug around in the Firefox docs and on the web I didn't find it in either place. (I really tend to avoid restarting Firefox because the pages I have open at any given point in time are another form of memory and Firefox is not completely reliable in re-opening up pages after it has been shut down and restarted. But I'll go through all of the pages open at the moment - there's really not too many of them somewhat unusually - and save the URL's that need to be saved to a text file.) - Dan
     
  6. nickles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    You might as well stop to become older... ;-)

    Sigh... Wish I knew how!
     

Share This Page