1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MEMORY and environment

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Stephen Howe, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. Stephen Howe

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I am a bit surprised that MEMORY does not display a line indicating the size of the current environment. But I guess

    SET > r.txt

    and looking at filesize gives some idea.

    I have just had SQL Server 2005 Client-sided Tools installed, they have added more entries to the environment and now Brief fails to run.
    I am going to have to run something that prunes the environment before running Brief :-(
    And I already dislike the faded-blue query plan icons. Not a patch on QA for SQL Server 2000. Why do MS programmers feel a need to fiddle with everything? They were perfect before, they are ugly now.

    Stephen Howe


    Stephen Howe
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,026
    Likes Received:
    84
    Stephen Howe wrote:


    > the size of the current environment. But I guess

    There is no environment size as such in Windows -- the environment is
    dynamically resized as necessary. (And in fact it's not possible for an
    app to determine just how much space Windows has allocated for the
    environment, only the amount of space that's currently being used.)


    > have added more entries to the environment and now Brief fails to run.

    DOS apps are always going to have problems running from Windows; most
    DOS apps think that 300-400 bytes is a large environment and 500 bytes
    will crash them. If you have Java or MSVC installed you could be using
    upwards of 8-10K worth of environment space.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. Stephen Howe

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Rex

    Then could it display the current size of the environment?

    Yeah. I now have a batch file which Unset's quite a few env variables and prunes PATH before kicking in with Brief. I remember the 16-bit DOS days when the environment was part of DGROUP.

    Cheers

    Stephen Howe
     
  4. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    Stephen Howe wrote:
    | Yeah. I now have a batch file which Unset's quite a few env variables
    | and prunes PATH before kicking in with Brief. I remember the 16-bit
    | DOS days when the environment was part of DGROUP.

    You might use START /I /SEPARATE which would pass to Brief only the small
    fragment of the environment from the Windows registry. BTW, my environment
    is 4822 bytes, the longest variable is prompt (192 bytes long), and have no
    problems running Brief. I use Vince Fatica's FSTOGGLE.EXE to run Brief in
    80x50 full screen mode on my WinXP SP3 system. My only problem with Brief is
    that on XP the macro compiler will not run, so I can no longer develop new
    ones.
    --
    Steve
     

Share This Page