1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mklink and Volume Shadow Copies

Discussion in 'Support' started by wellno, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. wellno

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    On http://blogs.msdn.com/adioltean/arc...ple-way-to-access-shadow-copies-in-vista.aspx they describe a way to access a Volume Shadow Copy in Vista by linking it into the NTFS file system using mklink.

    Example:
    MkLink /d c:\MyShadowCopy \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy417\

    This didn't work for me in TCC. I tried it in Vista's cmd.exe, where it produced the right result. Is this a missing feature in TCC? Or is there an easy workaround?

    Thanks,
    W.
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    Not reproducible here; it works fine for me in Windows 2008 & Windows 7,
    provided I started TCC with the "run as administrator" option.

    What version of TCC are you running?

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. wellno

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TCC is Version 11.00.40
    Windows is Vista Business Service Pack 2 (Version 6.0.6002)

    I tried running as administrator, but without success.
    Instead of the link, TCC creates a 0 byte file named "MyShadowCopy" in C:\
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    Not reproducible here. Did you log in as an administrator (which won't
    work), or start TCC by right clicking on its icon dir c:\shadow& selecting
    "run as administrator"?

    TCC is simply calling Window's CreateSymbolicLink API, so there's not much
    to go wrong in MKLINK. TCC is definitely not creating a file on its own.

    Can you create other symbolic links?

    Anybody else able to reproduce this?

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. dbartt

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried this using Vista 32 Home Premium with TCMD 32, and Windows 7 64 Pro with
    TCMD 64 and always got a file symlink rather than a directory link. Using CMD
    produces a directory symlink on Windows 7 64 Pro but a file symlnk on Vista 32
    Home Premium. All test were "Run as Administrator".

    Dennis
     
  6. wellno

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I used "Run As Administrator" as you described.
    My Windows version is 32-bit Vista Business Service Pack 2.
     

Share This Page