1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Move descriptions to NTFS descriptions

Discussion in 'Open Forum' started by Ralf Brinkmann, Jan 29, 2016.

  1. Ralf Brinkmann

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    I would like to move all my old descriptions from my description files (FILES.BBS) to NTFS descriptions, so that I can see them also in the comment fields in any file manager.

    How can I manage this in all folders and subfolders with one command?

    TCCLE 14x64 under W10x64.

    Supplement: Which field must I switch on in the file manager (Explorer) to see the file description?
     
    #1 Ralf Brinkmann, Jan 29, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
  2. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's already a description extension for descrit.ion, It gives a column in explorer.
    Using files.bbs is non-standard, because many programs look for descript.ion, and not what iis set in 4dos.ini.
     
  3. Ralf Brinkmann

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, the name of the description file is not the problem, I can rename it, but what description extension? Where can I get it? And is this only for explorer or also for other filemanagers?
     
  4. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's called descext113, from http://www.rbahr.de/ . The page is in german, but don't worry. It runs in english too.
    It creates a new file column in explorer 'File Description', and adds a tab to the property sheet to add properties. You can edit the description from there.

    It works under Windows 7, but because the explorer window has changed, you have to manually activate it in Windows.

    File commander (by Brian Havard), or Total Commander (by Ghisler), and FAR all support description.

    The trouble with storing things in EAs is that you can't copy EAs to cdroms or fat32 disks, while descript,ion is. This is one reason why i have set descriptions to a file rather than an EA.
     
  5. Ralf Brinkmann

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. I HOPE it is in german, because I am German. The problem today is, that you don't find any help in german. I'll have a look at it.

    Edit: I have just tried it out. It doesn't run with Windows 10x64. It doesn't find the Windows Explorer.
     
    #5 Ralf Brinkmann, Feb 5, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  6. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's OK. You can set the columns manually. It only needs to find explorer to automatically set the columns.
    It's running if you get a description tab on the properties sheet (right click - propertis).

    Go into explorer, view list and click in the table titles. You should be able to add an extra column. It is called 'file description', not 'description'.
    There's some setting in folder settings that will make it true for all folders
     
  7. Shadow Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wendy,

    I am not sure if the utility you linked to works in x64 windows. I have successfully used it in older Windows version but I can't get it to run Win 7 x64 either. I installed and manually added the File Description column. However, no descriptions are showing up. I know there are descriptions because dir /z shows them. I also do not get a Description tab in the properties page. Any ideas? Thanks!
     
  8. TEA-Time

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    That utility looks to be very old and certainly 32-bit. Unfortunately 32-bit shell extensions don't work with 64-bit Windows.
     
  9. Shadow Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agreed. However, Wendy was implying to the OP that it should still run so I was wondering if she manually got it to work. I have seen some x32 extensions work w/ x64 windows but it is clunky at best...
     

Share This Page