1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mutiple-line comamnd line input?

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by K_Meinhard, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    In TC Support, Jang wrote

    ---Quote---
    Also I have not found any way to split the command group `set
    inbox_directory=%_foldername & set inbox_file=%_folderfile1 & Call
    "C:\Users\Gappe\Documents\TCC batfiles\Subtest.bat"`into several
    lines amongst other for easier readability.
    ---End Quote---

    And Rex answered:

    ---Quote---
    Use a batch file!
    ---End Quote---

    Hmmm, wouldn't it be possible to tell TC, if the last character on the
    command line is a "&" or a "%+", to stay execution when receiving an
    "Enter" and append the next line, so making true multiple line
    commands possible?

    I too feel this would be preferable to long lines with interspersed
    "&".

    Best regards,

    * Klaus Meinhard *
    <www.4dos.info>
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Fri, 10 Jun 2011 03:45:38 -0400, K_Meinhard <>
    wrote:

    |Hmmm, wouldn't it be possible to tell TC, if the last character on the
    |command line is a "&" or a "%+", to stay execution when receiving an
    |"Enter" and append the next line, so making true multiple line
    |commands possible?
    |
    |I too feel this would be preferable to long lines with interspersed
    |"&".

    Code:
    v:\> echo 1 &^
    More? echo 2 &^
    More? echo 3
    1
    2
    3
    
    v:\> do i=1 to 2 ( echo 1 &^
    More? echo 2 )
    1
    2
    1
    2
    
    v:\> (echo foo
    More? echo bar)
    foo
    bar
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    30
    Rex, can the user redefine the command line "More?" prompt? IIRC some UNIX shells allow that.

     
  4. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304
    Likes Received:
    39
    It's the PROMPT2 environment variable. (Which ought to be listed on the System Variables help page, but isn't.)
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Likes Received:
    83
    I don't see the point, since TCC already does that if the last character on
    the line is an escape character (^).
     
  6. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo rconn,


    Ooops...

    Best regards,

    * Klaus Meinhard *
    <www.4dos.info>
     

Share This Page