1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Tab

Discussion in 'Support' started by fpefpe, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. fpefpe

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello - when tcmd create a new tab, does the created window have access to the copy of the environment variable that were passed on to TCMD
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    30
    Any process that TCMD starts will get a copy of TCMD's current environment (that's how Windows works).
     
  3. fpefpe

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello -- thanks for the reply -- so any changes made by the created tab would not be reflected back to TCMD copy?
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    30
    Right.
    But if you want to manipulate the environment of another process my 4UTILS contain PSET. Typically, TCMD is the parent of the TCCs in its tabs, so you could "PSET %_PPID var=value".
     
  5. fpefpe

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello -- thanks for that info ... is the latest version of 4utils at jpsoft.com?
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    30

Share This Page