1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Help File in 13.04.55?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Joe Caverly, Apr 20, 2012.

  1. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi,
    Yesterday, I updated to 13.04.60.

    Today, when I tried to use help, I get nothing, that is, no help file, no error.

    I did a search of the directory, and only found;


    Code:
     Directory of  C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD13\*.chm
     
    10/17/2011  11:42        368,729  v.chm
              368,729 bytes in 1 file and 0 dirs    372,736 bytes allocated
    No tcmd.chm anywhere. I even did a search of my hard drive. No where to be found.

    I do know that it was there before the update. Might anyone know where tcmd.chm has gone?

    Joe

    TCC 13.04.60 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    TCC Build 60 Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
    Registered to Joe Caverly - 1 System License
     
  2. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sorry, title for thread should be 13.04.60.

    13.04.55 is what I updated from.

    Joe
     
  3. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    I updated by expanding the installer version of tcmd.exe, which I had downloaded from the ftp: site. It included the version of tcmd.chm internally dated 2012-03-27 (overview page), but with filestamp of 2012-04-09@13:45:52Z (using C. Dye's @filestamp plugin function). Did not use the option /update.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
    Not reproducible here -- I just tried updating to 13.04.60 on two different systems (32 & 64 bit) and both have tcmd.chm (dated 2012/04/09).

    How did you do the update? Have you got anything running on your system (like an antivirus app?) that might have (erroneously) decided to quarantine or delete tcmd.chm?
     
  5. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    From TCC, which is a tab window in TCMD, I type;


    Code:
    option /u
    and let it do it's thing.

    I have been using Microsoft Security Essentials for the last couple of years, and it has never caused me any problems. I checked the history of MSE, and is has no record of doing anything with tcmd.chm.

    Joe

    TCC 13.04.60 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    TCC Build 60 Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
    Registered to Joe Caverly - 1 System License
     
  6. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    Well, you could always
    Code:
    copy "ftp://ftp.jpsoft.com/help/tcmd.chm" "%@path[%_cmdspec]"
     
  7. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    Done. Forgot the help file was on the ftp site. Thanks.

    Still does not explain what happened to it when I did the update, but all is well.

    Joe
     
  8. Stefano Piccardi

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    2
    BTW, v.chm is obsolete. V help is now included within tcmd.chm, I believe.
     
  9. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Correct! V13 users only - if TCMD's installation directory includes v.chm, just delete it. Using TCMD or TCC, of course!
    Users of all versions - you can also delete the .dll files of every language that you do not use. This is not likely to have a noticeable effect on your hard drive, but could help with "TCMD on a stick".
     

Share This Page