NT 8.0.102 purchased version is not longer "registered" since installing trial of TCMD 15.

Jus

May 19, 2013
5
0
I have a purchased and registered copy of 4NT 8.0.102 running on Windows 7 x64. All was fine until I installed the trial version of TCMD 15. I have uninstalled TCMD 15, but now 4NT thinks that it's a trial version if I run it without admin rights (not elevated). If I run it as administrator then it does run registered.

I've tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it. I've reinstalled the license key. But I have the same issue. It will not run as a registered version unless I run it with administrator rights.

How do I fix this so I can run it without admin rights?

- Jus
 

rconn

Administrator
Staff member
May 14, 2008
12,363
150
This doesn't have anything to do with installing v15.

Because of a number of API changes that Microsoft made in Vista and Windows 7, we do not support 4NT v8 in a Windows 7 environment.

However, if you're determined to run it (and willing to accept the risks involved), you can get the 4NT v8 registration working in Windows 7. 4NT v8 (written for Windows XP) stores its registration information in the Windows HKLM registry tree. Windows Vista (and Windows 7 & 8) changed the rules to not normally allow access to that tree, so in order to register v8 you’ll have to right click on the 4NT icon and select “run as administrator”. Run OPTION, enter your registration info, save it, and close the 4NT window. Subsequent 4NT sessions should start up registered.


(v9 and later versions write to HKCU, so they don’t have this problem.)
 
May 20, 2008
11,414
99
Syracuse, NY, USA
However, if you're determined to run it (and willing to accept the risks involved), you can get the 4NT v7 registration working in Windows 7. 4NT v8 (written for Windows XP) stores its registration information in the Windows HKLM registry tree. Windows Vista (and Windows 7 & 8) changed the rules to not normally allow access to that tree, so in order to register v8 you’ll have to right click on the 4NT icon and select “run as administrator”. Run OPTION, enter your registration info, save it, and close the 4NT window. Subsequent 4NT sessions should start up registered.

I had v8 hanging around on a drive copied from my previous computer ... never formally installed on Win7. I managed to find my registration info and I can verify that Rex's suggestion works.
 

Jus

May 19, 2013
5
0
I've tried the suggested solution, but it does not solve the problem. It's clear that the registration information is being stored. If I run as administrator again, it shows up registered. So it's saving it in the registry. But if I run without 'run as administrator' then it still says it's in trial mode. I even tried removing the registration using the 'option' button on the registration tab and filling it back it (while 'run as administrator'). Same issue when I don't run as administrator

Any other suggestions?

- Jus
 
May 20, 2008
11,414
99
Syracuse, NY, USA
As I said, it worked for me. When I run it as myself (an admin, but not elevated) I see
Code:
4NT  8.02.106  Windows Vista [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright 1988-2007  Rex Conn & JP Software Inc.  All Rights Reserved
Registered to Vincent Fatica - 5 System License
But, oddly, all instances in the registry of "5 System License" are in keys named for later versions of JPSoft products. So where is the registration info stored?
 

Charles Dye

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 20, 2008
4,466
88
Albuquerque, NM
prospero.unm.edu
I don't believe there ever was a version of 4NT 8 for 64-bit Windows....?

You might try updating to the latest build, 8.02.106; then copy the file 4NT802_INIKEY.EXE (from the FTP site) over the 4NT.EXE in your program directory, and try to register again.
 

Jus

May 19, 2013
5
0
Charles - you got it. I was running 8.02.102 already, but the FTP site had 8.02.106. So I downloaded and installed that. Then I replaced 4nt.exe with the 4NT802_INIKEY.EXE and reregistered and now it works without having to "Run as Administrator". I searched the registry for '1 System License' and did not find it in the registry anywhere. But it must be there somewhere or it would not have worked when I ran it as administrator. Oh well. Problem Solved! Thank you all for the help.

- Jus
 

Charles Dye

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 20, 2008
4,466
88
Albuquerque, NM
prospero.unm.edu
Charles - you got it. I was running 8.02.102 already, but the FTP site had 8.02.106. So I downloaded and installed that. Then I replaced 4nt.exe with the 4NT802_INIKEY.EXE and reregistered and now it works without having to "Run as Administrator". I searched the registry for '1 System License' and did not find it in the registry anywhere. But it must be there somewhere or it would not have worked when I ran it as administrator.


If you use that INIkey version, the registration info goes into an .INI file in the program directory, not the registry. (Or maybe it's a .KEY file -- it's been a while, I don't recall the details.) I think that variant was really meant for portable use, like on a flash stick or a CD-ROM. But it seems like it would also be a good workaround for the intricacies of multiuser licensing and x64 registry redirection. Glad it's working for you, anyway!
 
May 20, 2008
11,414
99
Syracuse, NY, USA
So where did the registration data go when I successfully tried Rex's suggestion? I can't find it in the registry, in 4NTv8's home directory, or anywhere in my profile tree. Yet it's registered.
 
Feb 26, 2013
100
0
So where did the registration data go when I successfully tried Rex's suggestion? I can't find it in the registry, in 4NTv8's home directory, or anywhere in my profile tree. Yet it's registered.

Is it possible that it's obfuscated in the registry in some way? If it was easy to find the registration data in the registry then presumably it would be easier to find a way to bypass the registration process, but encrypting and hiding it provides a layer of protection against that.
 
May 20, 2008
11,414
99
Syracuse, NY, USA
Obfuscated ... in way. It uses the older way of storing registration information. As the result of my following Rex's instructions, I got the following.
Code:
v:\> regfind "4nt8"
HKLM\SOFTWARE\ASProtect\Key
 
->      Value: 4NT8Key
And, as I said before, that was enough to allow me to run it as vefatica, an admin, unelevated. The license specifics are, no doubt, encoded in that value's (rather long) binary data.
 
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
D Version 28 LIBRARY changes have side effects Support 1
Dmitry L. Kobyakov How to? How to remove the record of the old version of the Take Command? Support 9
D Documentation WebHelp lands at version 26 Support 4
fishman@panix.com HELP!! I just updated to Version 28 and as usual I cannot make extended directory search work. Support 2
T Take Command 28: Lua reports version 5.4.0 (5.4.3 expected) Support 0
S Issues with version v26.02.42 x64 Support 0
Joe Caverly Documentation COMMANDS in Version 27 help Support 8
C version help Support 3
R Inconsistency in @version's use of quotes Support 2
thorntonpg What is the latest version of everything Support 1
S Windows Server version not being detected correctly in TCMD 26RC2 Support 9
D Which is the latest version for Windows XP? Support 2
gentzel "Check for Updates" appears to be checking for old version Support 2
D Fixed @VERSION does not increment pre-fixed version numbers. Support 1
nikbackm TCMD 25 - Unregister older TCMD version Support 2
Stefan Hassel Installation file TC 24.02 Build 47 is actually version 25.00.1 Support 10
Joe Caverly What version and Windows OS are you using? Support 3
Dmitry L. Kobyakov From old version: had the setup's error been corrected? Support 6
R How to? Compare executables' version/build # including 123.456.789.01 Support 10
RChrismon How to? Copy TCMD.INI to New Version Support 7
vefatica Windows 10 version number? Support 6
H @ceiling @floor @int not working version 21.01.63 Support 9
B Everything version in Take Command build 39? Support 3
G Version 20.11 installed on Windows 10 problems Support 9
M ANSI is used to show files instead of OEM in version 17 to 19 ! Support 5
E How to? Create a portable version of TCMD to use on other computers w/o installation Support 4
C 21b47 version[] Support 4
fishman@panix.com Version 21.23 fails to install Support 4
E Fixed View command broken in version 21.0 build 22 Support 9
rconn News Take Command + TCC + TCC-RT Version 21 Public Beta (RC1) Support 0
R How to? Not have RT version show on start Support 3
Roedy WAD Version number Support 1
Craig Fitzgerald problem with executable extensons with TCC version 19.10.51 x64 Support 3
Jesse Heines How to? Everything Tool Not Working After Version 20 Installation Support 8
T Portable instructions for version 19 Support 7
cgunhouse Version 19.00.23 Crashes Support 16
vefatica Updater says wrong version Support 1
Sande Nissen TCC/LE version? Support 6
Mordachai Upgrades - can I skip version(s)? Support 2
D Version 18 changed the naming convention of TC's folder Support 5
D Started suggestions, not in this version (yet?) Support 1
fishman@panix.com How about updating the version shown when you upload a new one? Support 4
Joe Caverly PLUGINs and Version 17.0 Support 4
C Is 17.00.55 same as release version? Support 3
Jay Sage Version 17 Installer Leaves Multiple Copies of ShrAlias Support 48
M How to? Start the version of Take Command that I want... Support 7
B Help file problem with version 16 Support 2
T "Checking for a newer version" doesn't complete Support 18
Dan Glynhampton Fixed @version "force" flag not working, and unable to set separator Support 3
J Required version for Windows 8.1? Support 2

Similar threads