Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Peculiarities of how START launches processes

Mar
Hello :-)

This is a bit of an odd request. I am on a bit of a detective case right now, and the problem I am trying to figure out isn't with TCC itself, but the evidence suggests that TCC, or something TCC is doing, plays a key role. Let me explain. :-)

I am a software developer and one of my projects involves a local Named Pipe server to which multiple clients can connect. Recently, I discovered a bizarre problem, where if many clients started in quick succession, some of them wouldn't be able to connect to the server at all (Windows behaves as if the server doesn't exist). Naturally, being a TCC user, the way I launched by barrage of clients was:

for /L %i in (1,1,50) do start Client.exe

When this is run, 50 windows pop up, but some very significant subset of them (10+ typically) at random get an error from the OS saying that no such named pipe server exists, even when the processes immediately before and after might succeed in connecting.