1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please add options for scrollback buffer searching

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Phileosophos, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't use the Edit/Find... feature often but when I do it's painful that it lacks the ability to do at least case-insensitive searching. Could you please add some options for scrollback buffer searching? Case insensitivity would be the most important, I think, but I could also see how "whole word" or even "regex" would be awesome. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    1
    The best way to make suggestions is to click the "feedback" thingy that is on the left of each page.
     
  3. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Call me kinda crazy, but I think a forum named "Suggestions" is a really good place to make suggestions!
     
  4. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    So it was for many years. However, Rex discovered that the software driving the feedback forum has many features very useful for evaluating the popularity of suggestions not available through newsgroup software, and switched to the new method (over the grumbling of oldtimers, such as me). New suggestions are formally accepted only from feedback.

    Rex:
    Recommend you lock the Suggestion forum from new submissions, possibly - if XenForo supports it - with redirection (automatic or a message directing the user to do it manually). Renaming it (e.g., Old Suggestions) may also help.
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    My 4CONSOLE plugin provides CSBFIND which does a case-insensitive search. ftp://lucky.syr.edu
    I'll look into including regex searches.
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    The Edit/Find feature already uses regular expressions (see the help).
     
  7. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    The dialog I see in the help is exactly what I was hoping to see and was surprised I didn't already find. But it bears little relation to the dialog I get when I choose "Find..." from the "Edit" menu. What am I missing? Is there some way to toggle the "advanced" version of the dialog or something?
     
  8. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    1
    Which dialog are you looking at? Edit/Find or Edit/Find Files?

    For case-insensitive, prefix your text with (?i).
     
  9. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm looking at the Edit/Find dialog, which has almost none of the options shown in the help. Here's the image shown in the help:

    [​IMG]

    In contrast, here's the image I see when I choose Edit / Find... in the TakeCommand software:

    [​IMG]

    As you can see, they're very different.
     
  10. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try again. I don't know why they weren't working before. But I converted them from PNG to JPG and put them in a different DropBox folder and suddenly they work. Go figure.
     
  11. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's the Find dialog for the View command. You are looking at the View help, not the Take Command help.
     
  12. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Interesting. I chose Help / Index from the TakeCommand window, typed "find" into the index, and chose the first entry in the help. Now I see at the top in a very small font that it's for the TCC / Commands / View command. Boy is that confusing.

    After poking around, I find no help on the Edit / Find menu option. At least not under the text I would expect to use for searching ("Find"). I guess I don't know to what help the earlier poster referred.
     
  13. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try the Contents tab: Take Command > Take Command Interface > Take Command Window > Menus > Edit. It says, "Find: Search the scrollback buffer of the current tab window using regular expressions." And, "regular expressions" is a link. The "earlier poster" was Rex; so, he should know.
     
  14. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    Try HELP EDITMENU. The Find menu item gets one line of text, no screenshot -- but it does mention the use of regular expressions.

    IMHO, radio buttons for case-sensitive, case-insensitive, and regexp searches would be a useful addition to the dialog. It'd also be nice if the dialog remembered the search string and settings from one invocation to the next. I don't believe any of this would pose any challenge to one of Rex's skills!
     
  15. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    I didn't doubt for a minute that he knew. What I doubt is that most users would know to look for "Contents > Take Command > Take Command Interface > Take Command Window > Menus > Edit" instead of "Find". Thanks, now I see it.
     
  16. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    It would be convenient if you could get there (search the console screen buffer) via the right-click menu in a tab.
     
  17. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yes!
     
  18. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Personally I'd like Ctrl + F to work, which is used by most of my other applications, but right clicking on a tab would be good too.
     
  19. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    You can actually do that yourself. View / Toolbars/Menus / Customize..., then choose the Keyboard tab. Under Category choose Edit; under Commands choose Find; click in the "Press new shortcut key" box and press Control-F. Press Assign, then Close.
     
  20. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nice! It's funny but I've been a user since the earliest days of 4DOS, and there's still a bazillion things I don't know--and more every year it seems.
     
  21. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    You can also put "Find" (with a drop-down box) on the toolbar (or maybe it's there by default). I find that a bit clumsy to use ... you type test in the box and press enter ... it finds/highlights the first instance in the screen buffer and opens the "Find" dialog we've been talking about so you can "Find next" or "Cancel".
     
  22. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Since it already always does regexp searches, the case-sensitive / case-insensitive options would be pointless (and that's why they're not there!).
     
  23. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    From the location of the EDIT/FIND feature in HELP, it seems the scrollback buffer search discussed in this thread is a feature of TCMD, not available for stand-alone TCC windows. Is this correct?
     
  24. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    That's correct.
     
  25. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    I fooled around with this in 4CONSOLE and have one that works about as well as it can. It suffers from the fact that the console screen buffer contains no newlines or NUL characters; every cell that appears blank contains a space (or perhaps character 160). That makes it impractical to search text that has wrapped. TCMD's "Find" doesn't wrapped text; it can't know if text in the console screen buffer had been wrapped.
     

Share This Page