1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please try to reproduce this

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    In a stand-alone TCC v11 console window issue "BDEBUGGER /C simple.bat". In the debugger, type "echo foo". Select "Startwithout debugging" from the debug menu (should see "foo" in the console). Press the debugger's "Help" (?) icon. For me, he help opens but the lefthand page is blank (and no amount of navigating will cjange that).

    Thanks.
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    Tried it on three machines; works fine on all of them.

    Did you try it without any plugins?

    And are you sure you haven't selected the "Favorites" tab -- which will
    usually display a blank window?

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Fri, 18 Jun 2010 20:42:15 -0400, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> In a stand-alone TCC v11 console window issue "BDEBUGGER /C
    |> simple.bat". In the debugger, type "echo foo". Select "Startwithout
    |> debugging" from the debug menu (should see "foo" in the console).
    |> Press the debugger's "Help" (?) icon. For me, he help opens but the
    |> lefthand page is blank (and no amount of navigating will cjange that).
    |---End Quote---
    |Tried it on three machines; works fine on all of them.
    |
    |Did you try it without any plugins?

    Yes.

    |And are you sure you haven't selected the "Favorites" tab -- which will
    |usually display a blank window?

    Yes (never go to Favs anyway).
    --
    - Vince
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    Help is an external Windows app. TCC has no control over what appears in
    the left window, only the right.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,300
    Likes Received:
    39
    I get the help page for BDEBUGGER. (This in 11.00.49.)
     
  6. TEA-Time

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    Perhaps your hh.dat (where HTML Help stores its settings) is corrupted? Although I have no idea why your sequence to reproduce the problem would have any bearing on how the file is used. It should be in "%APPDATA%\Microsoft\HTML Help". Either rename it to save it just in case or just whack it and HTML Help will recreate it.
     
  7. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Fri, 18 Jun 2010 22:17:45 -0400, TEA-Time <> wrote:

    |---Quote (Originally by vefatica)---
    |In a stand-alone TCC v11 console window issue "BDEBUGGER /C simple.bat". In the debugger, type "echo foo". Select "Startwithout debugging" from the debug menu (should see "foo" in the console). Press the debugger's "Help" (?) icon. For me, he help opens but the lefthand page is blank (and no amount of navigating will cjange that).
    |
    |Thanks.
    |---End Quote---
    |Perhaps your hh.dat (where HTML Help stores its settings) is corrupted? Although I have no idea why your sequence to reproduce the problem would have any bearing on how the file is used. It should be in "%APPDATA%\Microsoft\HTML Help". Either rename it to save it just in case or just whack it and HTML Help will recreate it.

    No luck! I removed it and the help opened in a never-used state ... but
    right-hand pane was empty. I misspoke earlier when I said it was the left-hand
    pane that was empty.
    --
    - Vince
     
  8. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    When the error happens, after WinDbg has attached to an already running IDE.EXE, WinDbg's command window shows:

    Code:
    (123c.1238): Unknown exception - code 8001010d (first chance)
    and WinDbg's memory window shows:

    Code:
    Unable to retrieve information, Win32 error 0n30: The system cannot read from the specified device.
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    That's meaningless, because the problem isn't in IDE.EXE, it's in Windows
    Help. You're looking at the wrong app!

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  10. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Sat, 19 Jun 2010 00:46:39 -0400, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> When the error happens, after WinDbg has attached to an already running
    |> IDE.EXE, WinDbg's command window shows:
    |>
    |> ---------
    |> (123c.1238): Unknown exception - code 8001010d (first chance)
    |> ---------
    |> and WinDbg's memory window shows:
    |>
    |> ---------
    |> Unable to retrieve information, Win32 error 0n30: The system cannot
    |> read from the specified device.
    |> ---------
    |---End Quote---
    |That's meaningless, because the problem isn't in IDE.EXE, it's in Windows
    |Help. You're looking at the wrong app!

    Well, WinDbg didn't (couldn't) say where the fault happened. I presume it's in
    a DLL that provides the help.
    --
    - Vince
     
  11. gschizas

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible your help file is downloaded from the Internet (and "unblocked")?

    If you do this:

    Code:
    C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD11>*dir tcmd.chm /:
    
    You should see just the tcmd.chm file:
    Code:
     Volume in drive C is unlabeled      Serial number is 1337:babe
     Directory of  C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD11\tcmd.chm
    
     4/05/2010   1:06       1.649.058  tcmd.chm
             1.649.058 bytes in 1 file and 0 dirs    1.650.688 bytes allocated
        81.776.701.440 bytes free
    
    If your help file was just downloaded off the Internet, you should see the following:

    Code:
     Volume in drive C is unlabeled      Serial number is 1337:babe
     Directory of  C:\Users\GSchizas\Downloads\tcmd.chm
    
    19/06/2010  15:05       1.647.276  tcmd.chm
                                   24    Zone.Identifier:$DATA
             1.647.300 bytes in 1 file and 0 dirs    1.650.688 bytes allocated
        81.608.310.784 bytes free
    
    If you see the latter, you need to "unblock" the chm file, either by deleting the Zone.Identifier stream (del tcmd.chm:Zone.Identifier) or by selecting the file on Windows Explorer, right click and select properties, and click on the "unblock" button.
     
  12. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    The Windows help is in an external exe.

    Looking at first-chance exceptions isn't going to be useful -- they occur
    constantly in TCC, and they're (almost) all WAD. It's only if the handling
    of one of them fails & you get a second chance exception that there's a
    potential problem.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  13. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    TCC 11.00.50 Windows Vista [Version 6.0.6002]
    TCC Build 50 Windows Vista Build 6002 Service Pack 2

    My system behaves as it should.

    On Fri, Jun 18, 2010 at 5:20 PM, vefatica <> wrote:




    --
    Jim Cook
    2010 Sundays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Monday.
     
  14. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Sat, 19 Jun 2010 08:40:57 -0400, rconn <> wrote:

    |The Windows help is in an external exe.

    No EXE runs when TCC, IDE, or TCMD opens the help.
    --
    - Vince
     
  15. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Sat, 19 Jun 2010 11:30:06 -0400, vefatica <> wrote:

    |No EXE runs when TCC, IDE, or TCMD opens the help.

    If the help was already invoked by IDE before the first "Start without
    debugging" then it will continue to work correctly.

    I also noticed that if IDE invokes the help, and I maximize the help window, and
    I invoke it again (presumably to bring it to the foreground (only)), it is also
    restored to its original size.
    --
    - Vince
     
  16. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Sat, 19 Jun 2010 08:15:55 -0400, gschizas <> wrote:

    |Is it possible your help file is downloaded from the Internet (and "unblocked")?

    I only get all files via "update /u". My current help file (TCC 11.00.50) is:

    d:\tc11> *dir /: *.chm

    Volume in drive D is APPS Serial number is 004c:2a90
    Directory of D:\TC11\*.chm

    2010-06-18 08:30 1,649,006 tcmd.chm
    1,649,006 bytes in 1 file and 0 dirs 1,650,688 bytes allocated
    9,206,824,960 bytes free
    --
    - Vince
     
  17. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Sat, 19 Jun 2010 12:13:45 -0400, vefatica <> wrote:

    |If the help was already invoked by IDE before the first "Start without
    |debugging" then it will continue to work correctly.

    When it's working correctly, Spy++ shows, below the "HHChild" window which is
    the help's right-hand pane, a "ShellEmbedding" window, below that, a
    "ShellDocObjectView" window, and below that an "Internet Explorer_Server"
    window.

    When not working correctly, only the "HHChild" and "ShellEmbedding" windows
    exist.
    --
    - Vince
     
  18. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Sat, 19 Jun 2010 12:13:45 -0400, vefatica <> wrote:

    |If the help was already invoked by IDE before the first "Start without
    |debugging" then it will continue to work correctly.

    And, after a "Start without debugging", pressing the "New shell" button results
    in:

    ---------------------------
    TCC.EXE - Application Error
    ---------------------------
    The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0150004). Click on OK to
    terminate the application.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
    --
    - Vince
     
  19. TEA-Time

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    Using Process Explorer I see that it's mshtml.dll that is loaded by ide.exe rather than hh.exe.
     
  20. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    Re: Please try to reproduce this (Got it!)

    In VariableExclude and DebugVariableExclude I have (by name) **every** variable a shell normally gets (including PATH and SYSTEMROOT). I just don't need to see them.

    When I start IDE, these variables are in IDE's environment (checked with my @PSET[] plugin function). After a "start without debugging" these are no longer set in IDE's environment! Is IDE refreshing it's environment with only the **visible** variables? The *Exclude variables should not affect what's **actually** in anyone's environment ... only what I see ... right?.
     
  21. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    1
    On my system, Help works correctly.

    TCC 11.00.50 Windows Vista [Version 6.0.6002]
    TCC Build 50 Windows Vista Build 6002 Service Pack 2
     

Share This Page