1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem Launching Google Earth from TCMD

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jay Sage, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've encountered a strange problem that I hope someone can explain, or,
    even better, fix. This is happening with the 64-bit version of TCMD
    under Windows 7.

    If I launch Google Earth using either an alias

    earth="C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe"

    or using a toolbar button with the same command line, or if I use a
    command line that references the desktop LNK, the program launches and
    runs, but my 3D controller does not work.

    However, when I launch the command by double-clicking the desktop icon,
    or by double-clicking on the EXE file using Windows Explorer
    ("Computer"), the 3D controller works just fine.

    This is really frustrating, because I generally do EVERYTHING from Take
    Command!

    -- Jay
     
  2. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Jay Sage wrote:
    | I've encountered a strange problem that I hope someone can explain,
    | or, even better, fix. This is happening with the 64-bit version of
    | TCMD
    | under Windows 7.
    |
    | If I launch Google Earth using either an alias
    |
    | earth="C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google
    | Earth\client\googleearth.exe"
    |
    | or using a toolbar button with the same command line, or if I use a
    | command line that references the desktop LNK, the program launches
    | and runs, but my 3D controller does not work.
    |
    | However, when I launch the command by double-clicking the desktop
    | icon,
    | or by double-clicking on the EXE file using Windows Explorer
    | ("Computer"), the 3D controller works just fine.
    |
    | This is really frustrating, because I generally do EVERYTHING from
    | Take Command!
    Did you try using TCC's START command (using the /I option) to launch
    the desktop LNK? Another alternate to try is to assign a HOTKEY to the
    desktop icon. I use many hotkeys, which -BTW - all require alt-shift-cntrl
    with another key, because I have not come across any software that uses all
    3 "modifier" keys together for its internal use. OTOH, if you are a
    rodentophile, did you try the quick launch bar?
    Any of these methods (possibly excluding START) should go directly to
    the OS as if TCMD and TCC weren't even there.
    BTW, did you make sure when trying it from TCC that the start directory
    for Google Earth is the same as whatever the Google-created shortcut has?
    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    29
    I'm curious if he tried it with CMD. TCC (and CMD, I guess) would use
    CreateProcess directly, while Explorer might use it indirectly via
    ShellExecute[Ex].

    On Fri, 29 Jan 2010 05:53:40 -0500, Steve Fábián <> wrote:

    |Jay Sage wrote:
    || I've encountered a strange problem that I hope someone can explain,
    || or, even better, fix. This is happening with the 64-bit version of
    || TCMD
    || under Windows 7.
    ||
    || If I launch Google Earth using either an alias
    ||
    || earth="C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google
    || Earth\client\googleearth.exe"
    ||
    || or using a toolbar button with the same command line, or if I use a
    || command line that references the desktop LNK, the program launches
    || and runs, but my 3D controller does not work.
    ||
    || However, when I launch the command by double-clicking the desktop
    || icon,
    || or by double-clicking on the EXE file using Windows Explorer
    || ("Computer"), the 3D controller works just fine.
    ||
    || This is really frustrating, because I generally do EVERYTHING from
    || Take Command!
    | Did you try using TCC's START command (using the /I option) to launch
    |the desktop LNK? Another alternate to try is to assign a HOTKEY to the
    |desktop icon. I use many hotkeys, which -BTW - all require alt-shift-cntrl
    |with another key, because I have not come across any software that uses all
    |3 "modifier" keys together for its internal use. OTOH, if you are a
    |rodentophile, did you try the quick launch bar?
    | Any of these methods (possibly excluding START) should go directly to
    |the OS as if TCMD and TCC weren't even there.
    | BTW, did you make sure when trying it from TCC that the start directory
    |for Google Earth is the same as whatever the Google-created shortcut has?
    --
    - Vince
     
  4. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hadn't tried that, but I just did, and the problem remains.


    That works fine, as does invoking the program as a command from CMD. It
    seems to be only when Google Earth is invoked from Take Command that the
    problem occurs.

    -- Jay
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    I have no idea what you mean by "3D controller".
     
  6. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a mouse-like piece of hardware that attaches via a USB port. It
    can be manipulated with many degrees of freedom and can be used to
    navigate in Google Earth, among other things. Various drivers are loaded
    to allow it to work with the various programs.

    What I have reported is that when Google Earth is launched by TCC/TCMD,
    the 3D mouse does not work. When it is launched any other way (by CMD,
    by double-clicking its desktop icon, etc.), the 3D mouse works fine. The
    question is, why does a program launched by TCC/TCMD behave differently
    than when it is launched by CMD?

    If you are interested in the device, it is called SpaceNavigator and can
    be seen at

    http://www.3dconnexion.com/products/spacenavigator.html

    -- Jay
     
  7. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    Have you tried it from TCC/LE ?
     
  8. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    > Have you tried it from TCC/LE ?

    No. Is there any reason to think that the behavior would be any
    different? In any case, I would like the program to run from TCMD, which
    is the command processor environment in which I work.

    I also expect that Rex would want to know when something does not run
    properly from TCC/TCMD when it runs fine from CMD and Windows.
    Unfortunately, this is not an easy problem to debug, since it depends on
    a particular hardware item and complex set of special drivers. On the
    other hand, Rex has a remarkable understanding of how these operating
    systems work and might just figure out what the problem could be. In the
    meantime, since I have assigned a hot key to the desktop icon, I can
    launch the program quite easily without TCMD (I just have to remember to
    do it that way).

    -- Jay
     
  9. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    Not really. But if the problem doesn't occur in TCC/LE, then that would be a clue for Rex; perhaps something to do with the new USB monitoring code? And if the problem *does* occur in TCC/LE, then that also would be a clue: something common to both products. (No, I'm not suggesting that you switch shells!)
     
  10. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Mon, 01 Feb 2010 13:55:17 -0500, Jay Sage <> wrote:

    |No. Is there any reason to think that the behavior would be any
    |different? In any case, I would like the program to run from TCMD, which
    |is the command processor environment in which I work.
    |
    |I also expect that Rex would want to know when something does not run
    |properly from TCC/TCMD when it runs fine from CMD and Windows.
    |Unfortunately, this is not an easy problem to debug, since it depends on
    |a particular hardware item and complex set of special drivers. On the
    |other hand, Rex has a remarkable understanding of how these operating
    |systems work and might just figure out what the problem could be. In the
    |meantime, since I have assigned a hot key to the desktop icon, I can
    |launch the program quite easily without TCMD (I just have to remember to
    |do it that way).

    Jay, do you use any of my plugins? SYSUTILS has a SHELLEX command which starts
    processes using ShellExecuteEx (as opposed to calling CreateProcess directly).
    It might help and I'd be curious to know if that's the case.
    --
    - Vince
     
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    There have been a lot of past reports about apps that didn't run correctly
    in TCC/TCMD, but in *all* cases thus far it's turned out to be configuration
    and/or environment differences.

    If you run CMD from TCC, does it work? If you run TCC from CMD, does it
    work?
     
  12. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just tried running SHELLEX "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google
    Earth\client\googleearth.exe"

    Google Earth ran, but the 3D mouse would not work.

    -- Jay
     
  13. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not completely sure what you mean, but here is what I just tried.

    I started a CMD process using the Windows RUN command and then attached
    the CMD session to TCMD. From that tab I ran the command "C:\Program
    Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe". Google Earth
    started running, and my 3D mouse worked.

    I started another CMD process using Windows RUN. From that command
    prompt I invoked TCC by executing the command
    That opened a TCC window, in which I ran "C:\Program Files
    (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe". Google Earth
    launched, but the 3D mouse did not work.

    So it appears that it is TCC that starts Google Earth in a way that
    differs from what CMD does.

    Here is something else that might be a clue. When I try to close a TCC
    session using the EXIT command or by clicking the X box, it does not
    close. Instead, I get an error message that "TCC has stopped working".
    Eventually I get a "Close program" button, but it often takes several
    tries before the session actually terminates.

    -- Jay
     
  14. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Mon, 01 Feb 2010 21:41:25 -0500, Jay Sage <> wrote:

    |> SYSUTILS has a SHELLEX command which starts
    |> processes using ShellExecuteEx (as opposed to calling CreateProcess directly).
    |> It might help and I'd be curious to know if that's the case.
    |---End Quote---
    |I just tried running SHELLEX "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google
    |Earth\client\googleearth.exe"
    |
    |Google Earth ran, but the 3D mouse would not work.

    Beats me, then. It's hard to imagine why **anything** would work differently
    depending on whether an app were started from a command line in TCC/TCMD
    vis-a-vis CMD. I'm looking forward to hearing what the difference really is.
    --
    - Vince
     
  15. Juanma Barranquero

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    On Tue, Feb 2, 2010 at 04:12, vefatica <> wrote:


    There's a difference, I think: programs launched from TCC get App
    Paths added to the start of their PATH, while CMD does not do that
    (though Explorer does).

    Juanma
     
  16. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Mon, 01 Feb 2010 22:12:24 -0500, Jay Sage <> wrote:

    |Here is something else that might be a clue. When I try to close a TCC
    |session using the EXIT command or by clicking the X box, it does not
    |close. Instead, I get an error message that "TCC has stopped working".
    |Eventually I get a "Close program" button, but it often takes several
    |tries before the session actually terminates.

    That's pretty drastic ... every time ... any TCC session at all ... how long has
    that been going on? Do you do anything fancy in TCSTART or TCEXIT?
    --
    - Vince
     
  17. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2010-02-02 04:12, Jay Sage wrote:

    I would guess your 3D controller has some resident software that injects
    itself into processes. Does it run any tray icons or background
    services?
     
  18. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sure that it does, but that doesn't explain why the program when
    launched from TCC behaves differently than when it is launched from CMD.


    Yes. Something called 3DxWare is running in the tray. After launching
    Google Earth from TCC, I have tried opening that program to see if I
    could turn on the 3D mouse, but nothing succeeded. For a long time I
    thought that the mouse had failed, but one day I happened to start
    Google Earth from the desktop icon and found that everything ran fine.

    -- Jay
     

Share This Page