1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with RSHELL

Discussion in 'Support' started by Frank, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,

    what do I need to get RSHELL working? I'm not shure what

    means. My target is a NetApp toaster with a unix-like os.

    In XP it worked fine:
    Code:
    C:\Temp >ver /r
    
    TCC LE  12,10,59   Windows XP [Version 5,1,2600]
    TCC LE Build 59   Windows XP Build 2600  Service Pack 3
    
    C:\Temp >which rsh
    rsh ist ein externer : C:\WINDOWS\system32\rsh.exe
    
    C:\Temp >rsh ber-nas01 version
    NetApp Release 7.3.4P4: Fri Nov 19 14:20:42 PST 2010
    
    C:\Temp >
    
    In W7 rsh doens't exist anymore but RSHELL doesn't do what I expected:

    Code:
    C:\Temp >ver /r
    
    TCC  13.00.26   Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7601]
    TCC Build 26   Windows 7 Build 7601  Service Pack 1
    Registered to ****************
    
    C:\Temp >which rsh
    rsh is an unknown command
    
    C:\Temp >which rshell
    rshell is an internal command
    
    C:\Temp >rshell ber-nas01 version
    TCC: (Sys) Der Zugriff auf einen Socket war aufgrund der Zugriffsrechte des Sockets unzulässig.
    "version"
    
    C:\Temp >
    
    frank
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    It was never in the release version of Windows, though it used to be in the
    resource kit. But since Vista it's been removed altogether.

    You'll have to find a suitable rsh server (Google "Windows 7 rsh download").
    There are a number to choose from.

    Though you might be better off switching to a more secure (SSH?) connection.
     
  3. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    But I want to connect to a machine which provides a rsh server.
    Do I really need a rsh server on my W7 pc?
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    No. The RSHELL command in TCC provides the local client; if you have an
    existing rsh server you can connect to it with RSHELL without requiring any
    additional software.

    (Although as I said in my last message, you will have zero security, so if
    the server is remote system you might want to think about using something
    like PUTTY / SSH instead.)
     
  5. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok, I'm glad that I'm not totally confused (yet ;-).
    But that brings us to the origin. Under XP (windows rsh) it works,
    but with the TCC rshell does not work.
    This is an actual code snippet from my old XP pc:
    Code:
    >rsh ber-nas01 date
    Tue Oct 25 15:18:23 CEST 2011
    
    >rsh ber-nas01 "vol status"
             Volume State           Status            Options
                dod online          raid_dp, flex     create_ucode=on
                 SP online          raid_dp, flex     create_ucode=on,
                                                      convert_ucode=on
               nfs0 online          raid_dp, flex     nosnap=on, create_ucode=on,
                                                      convert_ucode=on
                amd online          raid_dp, flex     create_ucode=on
            vollun0 online          raid_dp, flex     nosnap=on, create_ucode=on
            install online          raid_dp, flex     create_ucode=on
           regional online          raid_dp, flex     create_ucode=on
                lzm online          raid_dp, flex     create_ucode=on,
                                                      convert_ucode=on
         apps_projs online          raid_dp, flex     create_ucode=on
    Under W7 / TCC rshell gives the abovementioned error.

    frank
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    Unfortunately, I don't speak German, so I have no idea what the above mentioned error means.

    Your RSHELL command line will only work if your RSH server does not expect a username, firewall username and password, and/or remote port. (It seems unlikely that anyone would leave a server so exposed, but I suppose it's possible.) If your server *does* expect any of that information, you can specify it either on the RSHELL command line or in OPTION / Internet.
     
  7. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello Rex,

    I really appreciate your patience and engagement with "your users"!

    And I guess that you "speak" more computer languages than natural languages :-)
    My english is not the best, too and perhaps sometimes my intention is not obvious at the first glance.

    In this case both my pc and the NetApp machine are AD domain members and the permitted rsh-users are coded as a pair of "hostname" "username" in a etc/hosts.equiv file. In my opinion this configuration is safe enough for our environment.

    ... so I do not need to specify user/password. Simply "rsh hostname/ipaddr command" is working, as you can see in my last example from my XP pc.

    If you can't translate the error message I will try to install an english W7 pc and reproduce the error in english. Or wouldn't it be ok to use an Server 2008 R2 (same kernel) ? What do you think of that idea?


    Frank
     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    But your XP example wasn't using RSHELL, it was using another rsh client. The XP rsh may have been automatically supplying a username; the RSHELL in TCC definitely does not. So there's no way for your host to know who is trying to connect to it if you don't configure RSHELL in OPTION or supply the parameters on the command line.
     
  9. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok, I'm with you. Perhaps I was mislead by
    Today I tried rshell on 2 Windows Server 2008 R2 (SP1).
    On one it is working! One the other it is not working:

    Code:
    >ver /r
    
    TCC  13.00.26   Windows 2008R2 [Version 6.1.7601]
    TCC Build 26   Windows 2008R2 Build 7601  Service Pack 1
    Registered to ****************
    
    >rshell ber-nas01 "ifstat vifm"
    
    -- interface  vifm  (178 days, 12 hours, 11 minutes, 4 seconds) --
    
    RECEIVE
     Total frames:      274m | Frames/second:     289  | Total bytes:      4520g
     Bytes/second:    70184  | Multi/broadcast:  7626k
    TRANSMIT
     Total frames:     2299m | Frames/second:     277  | Total bytes:     10969g
     Bytes/second:    42339  | Multi/broadcast: 34600
    Code:
    [C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD13]ver /r
    
    TCC  13.00.26   Windows 2008R2 [Version 6.1.7601]
    TCC Build 26   Windows 2008R2 Build 7601  Service Pack 1
    
    [C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD13]rshell ber-nas01 "ifstat vifm"
    TCC: (Sys) An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions.
     "ifstat vifm"
    
    [C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD13]
    Now we have at least the english error message ;-)

    Slowly but surely I become a little bit frustrated.
    But I will dig deeper...


    Frank
     
  10. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    That's a Windows socket error (not a TCC error).

    It usually means that somebody else (app, service, or driver) is bound to
    the same address with exclusive access.
     

Share This Page