1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

REN a TCC Tab from command line

Discussion in 'Support' started by therealmikenelson, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. therealmikenelson

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I go about RENAMING a TCC Tab from command line in TC 9.02?

    Thanks, Mike
     
  2. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    With the TITLE command, or the TITLEPROMPT variable. (The variable takes precedence.)
     
  3. nikbackm

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there also a way to do the equivalent of right-clicking a tab in Take Command and renaming it manually? This has precedence over TITLE, TITLEPROMPT and all other title changes made by console-mode programs that run in the tab which makes it useful for setting a title that cannot be changed. But it would be nice to be able to do it from the command line instead of having to use the Take Command interface.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    nikbackm wrote:

    > and renaming it manually? This has precedence over TITLE, TITLEPROMPT
    and
    > all other title changes made by console-mode programs that run in the
    > tab which makes it useful for setting a title that cannot be changed. But
    > it would be nice to be able to do it from the command line instead of
    having
    > to use the Take Command interface.

    After you've set the title, change the UpdateTitle .INI directive to 0
    (OPTION //UpdateTitle=No).

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. nikbackm

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have "Update title" turned off for all TCC instances already. The problem with changing TC tab title usuaully occurs when I start another console-mode program from TCC (running in a tab) that changes the console title. This also causes the TC tab name to change unless it already has been assigned an explicit name (or been renamed).

    But I wrote a separate thread for this already (I missed the moderation notice so I thougth the post in this thread was lost).
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    nikbackm wrote:

    > problem with changing TC tab title usuaully occurs when I start
    > another console-mode program from TCC (running in a tab) that changes
    > the console title. This also causes the TC tab name to change unless
    > it already has been assigned an explicit name (or been renamed).

    Then why not set the title in a startup tab -- that will prevent
    anything (except a "rename tab") from changing it subsequently.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  7. nikbackm

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I could do that but I prefer to start the new tabs dynamically (via an alias using START /TAB) as I don't use them all the time.

    Therefore an extra switch to START for setting the tab name when "/TAB" is used would be quite useful, at least for me.
     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    nikbackm wrote:

    > (via an alias using START /TAB) as I don't use them all the time.

    > "/TAB" is used would be quite useful, at least for me.

    I'll add that to the suggestion list for v11 (the v10 feature list was
    frozen several weeks ago).

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  9. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    nikbackm wrote:
    | ---Quote (Originally by rconn)---
    || nikbackm wrote:
    ||| problem with changing TC tab title usuaully occurs when I start
    ||| another console-mode program from TCC (running in a tab) that changes
    ||| the console title. This also causes the TC tab name to change unless
    ||| it already has been assigned an explicit name (or been renamed).
    ||
    || Then why not set the title in a startup tab -- that will prevent
    || anything (except a "rename tab") from changing it subsequently.
    | ---End Quote---
    | Yes, I could do that but I prefer to start the new tabs dynamically
    | (via an alias using START /TAB) as I don't use them all the time.
    |
    | Therefore an extra switch to START for setting the tab name when
    | "/TAB" is used would be quite useful, at least for me.

    Check the syntax of the START command. It provides for a "title" parameter.
    Though I have not tested it, it ought to allow you to provide the tab title,
    just as it would become a window title when used without the /TAB option.
    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  10. nikbackm

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, it sets the console title but not the tab name (the tab seems to use the console title as its name only if the tab has not explicitly been given its own name), so if you later starts another console program in the tab that changes the console title then the tab name changes as well.
     

Share This Page