1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Documentation Script errors invoking help

Discussion in 'Support' started by Steve Pitts, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. Steve Pitts

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Folks,

    I'm not sure if this has just started happening after installing v18, since I can't remember the last time I invoked help from the previous v17 installation, but I get the following error dialog whenever I start help from Take Command:

    [​IMG]

    and the help display is a mess, lacking most formatting, won't scroll, etc. Any ideas??

    TCC 18.00.31 x64 Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7601]
    TCC Build 31 Windows 7 Build 7601 Service Pack 1
     
  2. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Could be related to Internet Options (IE) ...
     
  3. Steve Pitts

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. I don't use IE as a rule and suspect that therefore the IE Internet Options are 'out of the box', albeit that this is a six year old box running Windows 7 and no doubt MS have pushed updates to their browser during that span. Any ideas on which options might be affecting this??
     
  4. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just wrote because Internet Options (IE) are involved somehow (probably).

    Now, after I "analyzed" the error msg a bit, I have googled for "@MSITstore script" - and found the following interesting page ...

    http://www.grainge.org/pages/snippets/snippets.htm#chms

    Look under point "6" - this could be really interesting for your problem.

    Good luck!

    Greetings from Switzerland!
     
  5. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    39
    You might check whether the help file has any odd streams attached to it:
    Code:
    dir /: "%_cmdspec\..\tcmd.chm"
    
    If you spot any weird streams, delete 'em. You may have to restart Take Command, HH, Internet Explorer, or reboot Windows afterwards.
     
  6. Steve Pitts

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tip but that all relates to not being able to find the mk:@MSITStore item, whereas my issue seems to be that the item has been found but a script run by it is failing.

    No streams attached to that file, odd or otherwise.

    One further data point is that if, having received the error dialog and clicked on Yes (or No), I click on the Refresh button then the page displays correctly. Any attempt to navigate to another page results in a fresh error dialog for nsrInit but I can at least get the help pages to display in a readable form now.


    BTW I've had a great deal of frustration posting this as something keeps taking focus from the edit box for the reply to higher in the page (probably the same logic that is putting the orange arrows on the bottom RH corner of the page). Most aggravating.
     
  7. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    39
    Well, I'm disappointed. It was a nice, elegant theory.

    I suppose you could reset Internet Explorer. (INETCPL.CPL, Advanced tab, Reset....) Kind of a blunt instrument, though, and if it does fix the issue, you still won't know what caused the problem.
     
  8. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    11
    Since you said you don't use IE, I'd go with Charles' suggestion and reset IE.
     
  9. Steve Pitts

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sadly resetting IE - whether that be via the Advanced Tab > Reset, via Security > Reset all zones to default level, or by deleting the browser history - does not have the desired effect. I also tried logging in as my PC admin account, which has never been used to access the web, whether that be using IE or any other browser, and it exhibits the same symptoms. With my paranoid hat on I've also run Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and Hitman Pro but neither found anything particularly untoward (a handful of toolbar related registry settings, although I have no active toolbar and no add-ons, and a bucket load of tracking cookies).

    I've also discovered that whilst Refresh fixes the page layout if I then mouse over the navigation 'buttons' in the top RH corner of each page, they change to a missing image icon (although they still perform their function, if I can manage to click on them). This is all rather weird.
     
  10. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    39
    Sorry to hear that. I'm out of ideas....
     
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,804
    Likes Received:
    82
    The help doesn't actually have anything to do with TCMD or TCC -- it's entirely run by Windows & IE.

    An alternative would be to try the web help (https://jpsoft.com/help). If that works, you can change the .INI option to use web help instead of the local help.
     
  12. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
  13. Steve Pitts

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Folks,

    I'd already tried the mjsdiag and had also tried an SFC /SCANNOW but without succes. However, Rex's comment

    set me to thinking and I decided to try uninstalling the update to IE11 to see if that might reset things in some way. Thankfully, despite the uninstall taking a couple of hours to complete, it resolved the problem. Since I don't use IE the fact that I'm back on IE9 has no material effect for me.
     
  14. Steve Pitts

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear old Windows managed to 'upgrade' me back onto IE10, and that exhibited the same issue. Uninstalling that and falling back to IE9 again eliminated the nsrInit error. Reverting to IE9 is a perfectly acceptable solution for me, but I wonder whether others are running IE10 or IE11 in 64 bit Windows 7 without help system issues??
     
  15. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Some (maybe last) ideas about it:

    FIRST: MAKE A BACKUP OF YOUR SYSTEM!

    Have you tried this from site:
    http://www.robworley.com/2005/03/what-does-cannot-open-the-file-mkmsitstore-mean/
    ...

    Delete the file “hh.dat”, which you should find in this subdirectory:

    \Documents and Settings\%username%\Application Data\Microsoft\HTML Help

    This file stores information about all the HTML Help files on your system (Favorites, window size and position, etc.), and can cause the files to misbehave if it has somehow been corrupted.

    or this from same URL (probably as ADMINISTRATOR) ...

    “Open a CMD window, type the following on the command line:

    regsvr32 %systemroot%\system32\hhctrl.ocx
    regsvr32 %systemroot%\system32\itss.dll

    You will receive a success message after each of these commands.”

    AND ...

    Ensure, that you don't have special (non english) characters (such as "[") in related path name.

    If this also not helps, i'm out of idea(s). Also, it could be a good thing to reinstall your OS (clean installation).

    Greetings
    Alpengreis
     
  16. Steve Pitts

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made the mistake of spending yet more time on this, but none of the above makes any difference with IE10 - only rolling back to IE9 does the trick. Anyway, thanks for trying to help, and as I've said, I can live with it.
     

Share This Page