1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Selecting line from popup history without executing

Discussion in 'Support' started by thorsten, Mar 11, 2013.

  1. thorsten

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to "echo" a line I select from the history popup window (bound to Page-Up by default) without executing it? Often I want to slightly modify the selected command before executing it but the popup window directly executes it.

    When I go through history with the Up/Down cursor keys I can edit the line before pressing enter.
     
  2. thorsten

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just see it's possible to edit it in the popup window itself. Makes sense.
     
  3. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    What happens when you select a line in the popup window and press ctrl-enter?
     
  4. thorsten

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, even better. Thanks!
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,789
    Likes Received:
    29
    How do you edit in in the pop-up?
     
  6. thorsten

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,789
    Likes Received:
    29
    Cool!
     
  8. Christian Albaret

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    By default, Ctrl+Enter copies to the command line without executing.
     
  9. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,789
    Likes Received:
    29
    That's the one I have used since the days of 4DOS.
     

Share This Page