1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Settings not writting to registry in XP (32 bit)

Discussion in 'Support' started by dmouriz, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. dmouriz

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed TC/LE on two Windows XP 32 bit machines. The settings for Folder View and Command Line are not being saved to the registry, so that every time I restart the program it has the default layout.
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,991
    Likes Received:
    84
    dmouriz wrote:

    Is it saving *anything* -- i.e., if you change the window size is that
    remembered? If not, you've got something blocking your registry access.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,991
    Likes Received:
    84
    dmouriz wrote:

    Is it saving *anything* -- i.e., if you change the window size is that
    remembered? If not, you've got something blocking your registry access.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  4. dmouriz

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it saves the window position, and it saves the Status Bar setting (hide/unhide). It also doesn't remember the toolbar settings. I have also tested this in an XP Virtual Machine with the eval version, and it has the same problem. I have attached my System Info if that helps.

    -Donovan
     

    Attached Files:

  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,991
    Likes Received:
    84
    dmouriz wrote:

    Not reproducible here, and since we haven't had any other reports of
    this problem it's likely to either be something unique to your system(s)
    or I'm not understanding what you're trying to do.

    Can you give me the *exact* details of what you're doing, and what
    version/build of TCMD/LE you're running.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  6. dmouriz

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take Command LE v9.02.151
    I launch TC from the start menu. I have noticed BTW that occasionally it won't start after I click on it. When it comes up, I click View/Command Input to uncheck it, and hide the Command Input window. Then I click View/Folder and List Views to uncheck it, and hide the folders windows. I do some work, and when I am finished I exit TC. When I restart TC the next time, the Command Input and Folder windows are back. This is really annoying, because I will typically launch TC from various locations to do quick tasks and exit. I don't need the other windows, and I don't want them. I bought TC because it would give me more flexibility with screen size, and I don't want to have those other windows in my way all the time. If I hide the Status Bar it remembers that on the next session. I can see where it writes to the TCMD.INI and the Registry the StatusBar setting. It will occasionally update the TCMD.INI with the CommandInput setting, but it is not consistent, and it never writes it to the registry. Either way, if I put CommandInput=No in the TCMD.INI file and in the registry, it doesn't work. Can you tell me what the registry settings are supposed to be for hiding the "Folders and View", "Command Input" and the "Explorer Toolbar", please? It would be nice to be able to control these settings dynamically, and I would like to help you figure out this problem, but at this point I will settle to just "Hard Coding" it so I can get my work done.

    -Donovan
     
  7. dmouriz

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Can someone please give me the registry entries to hide the Command Line Folders and List View and Explorer toolbar at launch?
     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,991
    Likes Received:
    84
    dmouriz wrote:

    Not easily -- they're binary fields, combined with all of the other
    windows, and they vary depending on the window order and position.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  9. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    rconn wrote:
    | dmouriz wrote:
    |
    |
    | ---Quote---
    ||
    || Quote:
    || Can someone please give me the registry entries to hide the Command
    || Line Folders and List View and Explorer toolbar at launch?
    | ---End Quote---
    | Not easily -- they're binary fields, combined with all of the other
    | windows, and they vary depending on the window order and position.

    The question below may have its answer in HELP, and may have been asked and
    answered in the current or the older NG.

    Does the INIKEY version of either TCMD or TCC access the registry without
    explicit user request (e.g., @regquery)?
    --
    Steve
     
  10. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,991
    Likes Received:
    84
    Steve Fábián wrote:

    Yes for TCMD, no for TCC.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  11. AlterGeek

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I may have misunderstood the question, but perhaps just add the following section (or just the 2nd line, if the section is already there) to tcmd.ini:

    [ListView]
    Style=3
     

Share This Page