1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Standalone installer problem

Discussion in 'Support' started by Charles Dye, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,372
    Likes Received:
    40
    After upgrading to build 60 using the standalone installer, attempting to start either TCMD.EXE or TCC.EXE gives a popup message box about a missing DLL, VirtualizerSDK32.dll. Uninstalled and reinstalled; uninstalled, deleted all remaining .EXE and .DLL files in my Take Command directory, redownloaded and reinstalled; no dice. I think that the standalone installer contains a damaged build. (32-bit; I have not tried the 64-bit.)

    Upgrading through the 'Check for Updates' feature did work, though of course I had to drop back to build 59 again to do that.
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    85
    There's only one installer; there isn't any "standalone" differentiation.

    Did you download from the FTP site? (That gets uploaded last; possibly you got it when it hadn't finished with the upload.)
     
  3. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,372
    Likes Received:
    40
    Yes, I usually grab them from the FTP site. I don't think that's the issue -- I downloaded it twice, and got the same file both times.

    But if no-one else has this problem, then it must be me....
     
  4. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    From: rconn

    | Did you download from the FTP site? (That gets uploaded last;
    | possibly you got it when it hadn't finished with the upload.)

    I got it from FTP site and starting the new build failed exactly as others . Repeated download and now it works. Maybe you should not announce that a new build is available, or make new files hidden on the FTP site until all uploading is finished and verified?
    --
    Steve
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    85
    I don't -- but I don't have any control over server or ISP cacheing.
     

Share This Page