1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

START /DESKTOP="name with space" ...

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, May 27, 2012.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    START /DESKTOP=... is working now but not when there's a space in the desktop name.
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    ... because Windows (and DESKTOP /C) lets me do it. Like it or not (and I don't) long names are a fact of like and many users do like them.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    "Not strictly illegal" != "a good idea".
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    Nearly every command and variable function in TCC handles parameters with spaces, most of the time by simply requiring quoting. The name of a desktop seems akin to the name of a file or of a folder.
    Code:
    START /DESKTOP="Desk 1"
    just seem like normal procedure.

    P.S. The restrictions of desktop names are about as lax as they get. From MSDN,
    Code:
    Desktop names are case-insensitive and may not contain backslash characters (\).
     

Share This Page