1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SysUtils (audio) volume command

Discussion in 'Plugins' started by jadaml, Nov 24, 2014.

  1. jadaml

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    The SysUtils plugin volume command under Windows 7 controls the (audio) volume for the application.
    But isn't it supposed (to be able) to control the master/system volume?
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,972
    Likes Received:
    30
    I haven't looked at it in a long time and I don't think I've ever used it in Win7. Right now I can't get it to do anything! I'll look at it tonight.
     
  3. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same here. I tried using it last week, because I would really like to control the volume by command (mainly to reset it to my default level of choice). I used to use Steve Gibson's wizmo command, but it no longer works (and he doesn't seem to be doing any maintenance work on his tools). So, Vince, I hope you can figure out how to do it in Windows 7.
     
  4. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    39
    In UIStuff I wound up writing two totally different sets of mixer routines -- one for XP, one for Vista and later. It is not pretty.
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,972
    Likes Received:
    30
    I read that the method I used doesn't work globally in Vista+. But I did find some code (relatively brief ... COM ... Charles?) that does work, controlling the master volume. Right now it works like this (below) ... not exactly ready for public consumption. I'll work on it and either update SYSUTILS's VOLUME or add a MASTERVOL command.
    Code:
    l:\projects\4sysutils\release> volume -f 1.00
    
    l:\projects\4sysutils\release> volume
    Current volume in dB is: 0.0000000000000000
    Current volume as a scalar is: 1.0000000000000000
    
    l:\projects\4sysutils\release> volume -f .75
    
    l:\projects\4sysutils\release> volume
    Current volume in dB is: -4.2026910781860352
    Current volume as a scalar is: 0.7500000000000000
     
  6. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    39
  7. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,972
    Likes Received:
    30
  8. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,972
    Likes Received:
    30
    jadaml, I uploaded a new SYSUTILS.

    ftp://lucky.syr.edu/4plugins
     
  9. jadaml

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works like a charm. Didn't over-tested it though, but definitely works on a few try, and the volume indeed changes (my laptop displays the volume whenever it changes).

    Thank you! :)
     
  10. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Vince, will the new SYSUTILS work with TCC v16?
     
  11. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,972
    Likes Received:
    30
    So far I have managed to build ones that work with v16 (and before). So, for now, yes. But there's no promise that it will remain so. I'm confident the new ones will not work with Windows XP.
     
  12. dcantor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks. I'm only 2 weeks away from upgrading to v17.
     

Share This Page