1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Take Command startup problem

Discussion in 'Support' started by ksee, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. ksee

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Rex,

    RE your reply to my email support call:

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hi Keith:

    We only provide support via our forums -- so that other forum members can
    contribute, and everybody can benefit from the solutions.

    Please repost this on the support forum, but with some additional
    information:

    1) What do you mean by "it starts to launch" -- does the TCMD window appear
    and then close?
    2) Do you have a TCSTART file that might be aborting the startup? (If you
    only have one tab window, and it closes immediately, then TCMD will also
    close immediately.)
    3) What is in your TCMD.INI?
    4) Do you have other apps (particularly screen managers and antivirus apps)
    that might be injecting code into TCMD and/or TCC?
    5) Do you see any error popups?
    6) If TCMD is crashing, it will generate a TCMD.GPF file in the
    \users\yourname\appdata\local\jpsoft directory.

    Rex Conn
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    I've installed a trail of Take Command on both Windows 7 & Vista
    computers and on both it won't launch. When I click on the icon, it
    starts to launch - there's a bit of cursor activity as tcmd.exe starts, which I can see in Task Manager - but then stops, as tcmd.exe shuts down.

    On my W7 machine...

    1) No TCMD window appears at all during this.

    2) This is the first time I've tried to launch TCMD and I don't know what a TCSTART file is.

    3) There is no TCMD.INI file.

    4) Can't think of any other app that would affect this - TCMD is the only program that's doing this at the moment.

    5) No error popups.

    6) Content of TCMD.GPF is:

    TCMD 14.01.33
    Module=C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD14\IsLicense50.dll
    Address=03FA5DA5
    Exception=C0000005
    EAX=040AF000 EBX=040AEF70 ECX=01AF000E EDX=00000007
    ESI=01AFDE20 EDI=01AFE120 EBP=01AFDDE8 ESP=01AFDDE8
    CS=00000023 DS=0000002B ES=0000002B SS=0000002B
    Flags=00010202

    Stack:
    1 : IsLicense50.dll 0001:00154da5
    2 : IsLicense50.dll 0001:0004d9dd
    3 : IsLicense50.dll 0001:00060aa3
    4 : IsLicense50.dll 0001:0005586b
    5 : IsLicense50.dll 0001:00055c67
    6 : IsLicense50.dll 0001:000553c6
    7 : IsLicense50.dll 0001:00056a48
    8 : IsLicense50.dll 0001:00050628


    Regards

    Keith
     
  2. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    Behind a firewall or proxy?
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    I've never seen or heard of that problem before, so it's likely to be a conflict with something else on your system. IsLicense50.dll is a third-party dll; I sent a query to the developers to see if they have any ideas.

    Two things for you to try first:

    1) Make sure the IsLicense50.dll is registered properly. Run "regsvr32 islicense50.dll" from a command prompt and let me know the results. (It's possible you have something on your system that is blocking COM dll registration.)

    2) If #1 doesn't work, run regedit and delete the "HKCU\Software\JP Software\Take Command 14.0" key.

    What happens if you go to the TCMD installation directory and run "tcc.exe" instead of "tcmd.exe"?

    Are you on a corporate network with a proxy server and/or firewall blocking Internet access from unregistered apps?
     
  4. ksee

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) Make sure the IsLicense50.dll is registered properly. Run "regsvr32 islicense50.dll" from a command prompt and let me know the results. (It's possible you have something on your system that is blocking COM dll registration.) - This fails with the error 'The Module "ISLICENSE50.DLL" Failed To Load'......The specified module cannot be found.

    2) If #1 doesn't work, run regedit and delete the "HKCU\Software\JP Software\Take Command 14.0" key. - After deleting this key a Take Command window briefly launched then closed.

    What happens if you go to the TCMD installation directory and run "tcc.exe" instead of "tcmd.exe"? - "tcc.exe" launches OK, "tcmd.exe" fails to launch.

    Are you on a corporate network with a proxy server and/or firewall blocking Internet access from unregistered apps? - I'm on a corporate network; to my knowledge there shouldn't be anything blocking internet access for this app.
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83


    You don't have IsLicense50.dll in your Take Command installation directory? (Or you didn't run regsvr32 from your installation directory?)
     
  6. ksee

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, my apologies... IsLicense50.dll now registered, but tcmd.exe still fails to launch.
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    Did you try deleting the key and/or running "tcc.exe" instead of "tcmd.exe"?
     
  8. ksee

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I deleted the key and, as before, a cmd window appears when I run tcc.exe. Running tcmd.exe still fails to launch however.
     

Share This Page