1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Take Command / TCMD/LE / TCC/LE 12.0.26 Public Beta uploaded

Discussion in 'Support' started by rconn, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    I've uploaded build 26 to the web and ftp sites.

    Help file updates, some minor changes to the dialogs and menus, and a couple of obscure bug fixes (which nobody had reported).
     
  2. Kachupp

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has fixed an "embedded data" in batch file "issue" that all version up till 12.26
    repeated!
    see here http://jpsoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2237



     
  3. Kachupp

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm buying

     
  4. Kachupp

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    I must of been drunk when i posted this .. its still got issues


     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    I don't understand what you're referring to here -- can you email me a sample batch file that shows the problem?
     
  6. Kachupp

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    attached


     

    Attached Files:

    • vn.btm
      File size:
      553 bytes
      Views:
      7
  7. Kachupp

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    embedded data follows
    : [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Environment]
    : [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Volatile Environment]
    : [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment]
    do _r=1 to 3
    reg query %@quote[%@strip["]",%@field["[",1,%@line[%@name[%0].btm,%_r ]]]]
    enddo

    :: if spaces or tabs are placed after the Embedding the do loop gets lost this one
    has tabs after the embedded data
    :: only one of the registry entries gets displayed , lines 1 and 3 will not be
    displayed till the "white space (tab)" is removed via an editor
    :: it treats it as part of the registry key

    Noped ripped off


     
  8. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    The attached batch file does not appear to have tabs, as shown by TYPE /X.
    When I do change lines 2, 3, and 4, to begin colon-tab instead of
    colon-space it still functions the way I'd expect -- it shows the reg query
    for each of the three keys given. When I append a tab to the end of line 2
    (after the ]), it still shows just as expected.

    TCC 12.00.26 Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7600]
    TCC Build 26 Windows 7 Build 7600


    On Thu, Sep 2, 2010 at 13:33, Kachupp <> wrote:




    --
    Jim Cook
    2010 Sundays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Monday.
     
  9. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was using TCMD 11.00.52 and tried to START/TAB V12.00.25 TCC.EXE from its
    folder, and got this gpf:
    TCMD 11.00.52
    Module=C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD11\tcmd.exe
    Address=00420736
    Exception=C0000005
    EAX=023C2250 EBX=0041C380 ECX=00000000 EDX=00000000
    ESI=00000000 EDI=023C2250 EBP=00B7F7C0 ESP=00B7F78C
    CS=0000001B DS=00000023 ES=00000023 SS=00000023
    Flags=00010293

    Stack:
    1 : tcmd.exe 0001:0001f736
    2 : tcmd.exe 0001:0001fa4f
    3 : tcmd.exe 0001:0001b992
    4 : tcmd.exe 0001:0015946a
    5 : tcmd.exe 0001:0015506d
    6 : tcmd.exe 0001:00157e19
    7 : tcmd.exe 0001:00157ea8
    8 : USER32.dll 0001:000176ef

    On Thu, Sep 2, 2010 at 13:49, Jim Cook <jimrcook@gmail.com> wrote:




    --
    Jim Cook
    2010 Sundays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Monday.
     
  10. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't understand what you mean by "noped ripped off." Which line numbers
    (1==embedded data follows, 2=HKCU\Environment, etc.) should have a tab
    character? Where should the tab character be? I'll try to reproduce your
    problem.

    On Thu, Sep 2, 2010 at 13:51, Kachupp <> wrote:




    --
    Jim Cook
    2010 Sundays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Monday.
     
  11. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    If I understand correctly, you're saying that @LINE doesn't strip trailing spaces. I don't think it's intended to; the help page doesn't say that it should.

    You can use @TRIM @LTRIM and @RTRIM to remove leading/trailing spaces.
     
  12. Kachupp

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope ripped off was a throw away comment about attachment. didn't show on my end

    if you place a "tab or white space" after ]
    it gets treated as part of the key
    place it after [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Volatile Environment] "tab white space" that
    line will not display it displays as a reg error not being able to find the key which
    is correct



     
  13. Kachupp

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would of thought everything after strip["]" would be ignored but looking at it now
    its doing
    exactly what i asked it to do with field["[",1 , my question is why is it reading
    tabs ?
     
  14. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Thu, 02 Sep 2010 17:45:42 -0400, Kachupp <>
    wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> ---Quote (Originally by Kachupp)---
    |> embedded data follows
    |> : [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Environment]
    |> : [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Volatile Environment]
    |> : [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment]
    |> do _r=1 to 3
    |> reg query %@quote[%@strip["]",%@field["[",1,%@line[%@name[%0].btm,%_r ]]]]
    |> enddo
    |> ---End Quote---
    |> If I understand correctly, you're saying that @LINE doesn't strip trailing
    |> spaces. I don't think it's intended to; the help page doesn't say that it should.
    |>
    |> You can use @TRIM @LTRIM and @RTRIM to remove leading/trailing spaces.
    |---End Quote---
    |I would of thought everything after strip["]" would be ignored but looking at it now
    |its doing
    |exactly what i asked it to do with field["[",1 , my question is why is it reading
    |tabs ?

    Why is **what** reading tabs ... @line? If they're in the file, it
    seems they should be read. I haven't followed this thread too
    closely, but why not use @WORD with "[]" as separators? Whitespace at
    the ends of the lines won't matter (and why put whitespace there in
    the first place?).

    v:\> echo %@quote[%@word["[]",1, : [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Volatile
    Environment]whitespace]]
    "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Volatile Environment"
     
  15. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    See my last post (which may be messy because I forgot to put code-tags
    in it). A little more to the point is

    Code:
    v:\> type regkey.txt
    : garbage[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Volatile Environment]garbage
    
    v:\> echo %@quote[%@word["[]",1,%@line[regkey.txt,0]]]
    "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Volatile Environment"
     
  16. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    Even more to the point:

    Code:
    v:\> type katchupp.btm
    : embedded data
    : garbage [HKCU\Environment] garbage
    : stuff [HKCU\Volatile Environment]more stuff
    : crap [HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment] crap
    do _r=1 to 3
            set keyname=%@quote[%@word["[]",1,%@line[%@filename[%0],%_r]]]
            echo %keyname
            REM reg query %keyname
    enddo
    
    v:\> katchupp.btm
    HKCU\Environment
    "HKCU\Volatile Environment"
    "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment"
     
  17. Kachupp

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was trying to "keep" the syntax specific to the "One Liner" theme of "ways" of getting it!
    in regards to variable names with a high-ish speed outcome that targets specific's

    even if crap garbage variables have nothing to do with the results.
    Embedded data in a batch file is assumed correct, the out come of the input doesn't reflect that. (white
    space/tabs) in my mind!


     
  18. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    I could have used a one-liner inside the DO loop:

    Code:
    reg query "%@word["[]",1,%@line[%@filename[%0],%_r]]"
    I used a variable because I did not want to actually execute reg.exe, but wanted wanted to show that it should be given the same argument that I gave to echo.

    I tried to show a way to do it even if the data were imperfect, only the keyname (inside []) need be correct. Extra tabs/spaces at the end should not affect the method above.

    Also note that there's no need to use @QUOTE. Just supply the quotes literally, reg.exe doesn't mind them even if they are unnecessary
     
  19. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    And I agree with the one-liner approach. The fewer lines, characters, variables, and variable functions that are used, the faster it will be. This works nicely and is not bothered by extra tabs and spaces after the data.

    Code:
    : [HKCU\Environment]        
    : [HKCU\Volatile Environment]  
    : [HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment]     
    do _r=0 to 2
            reg query "%@word["[]",1,%@line[%0,%_r]]"
    enddo
    Have I missed the whole point?
     
  20. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    There is no way to run TCC v12 from TCMD v11. I'll see if I can make a change for v11 to prevent it from crashing (& just return an error).
     
  21. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    On Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 18:25, rconn <> wrote:



    I find that statement curious, since I believe I am doing that right now.
    One of my tabs shows:

    TCC 12.00.26 Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7600]
    TCC Build 26 Windows 7 Build 7600

    Help / About says Take Command v11.00.52

    --
    Jim Cook
    2010 Sundays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Monday.
     

Share This Page