1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Take Command / TCMD/LE / TCC/LE v10 beta build 43 uploaded

Discussion in 'Support' started by rconn, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
  2. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    I think this build may have broken AppPaths using REG_SZ. (I used to be able to start Nero from the command line by typing NERO, but not in build 43. Still works in 9.02.154.)
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,775
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Wed, 28 Jan 2009 16:59:12 -0600, Charles Dye <> wrote:


    It seems so. "Which wab" works in v9 and not in v10; they have the same PATH.
     
  4. who_are_you

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I try to install the beta version of TCC/LE v10, however, I encounter unexpected "Application Error". I am using Windows XP Simplified Chinese version. And I also try it in Windows XP Traditional Chinese version, and the similar error happens. The meaning of the error message is "Application initialization failed. Please Click OK to abort the application."

    TCC/LE v9 has no such error.
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
    who_are_you wrote:

    Not reproducible here.

    Did you get the error in the installer (tccle.exe) or the TCC executable
    (tcc.exe)?

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  6. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    rconn wrote:
    | I've uploaded betas for Take Command, Take Command/LE, and TCC/LE to
    | the ftp beta area:
    |
    | ftp://jpsoft.com/beta/tcmd.exe
    | ftp://jpsoft.com/beta/tcmdle.exe
    | ftp://jpsoft.com/beta/tcc.exe
    |
    | Build 43 includes updates to the help, final versions of the resource
    | files (English, French, and German), a fix for FTP include lists, and
    | a fix for App Paths using REG_EXPAND_SZ.

    I had installed - apparently successfully - TCMDLE 10.0.43 on my system.
    This is the catalog of files, their versions and CRC32s in the installation
    directory:

    ------------+-------+-------------------+---------+--------
    English.dll |10.0.43|2009.01.28 17.16.46| 414,528|F2CDFC07
    examples.btm| |2008.02.19 22.36.44| 20,342|9F1B0948
    French.dll |10.0.43|2009.01.28 17.16.46| 439,104|AB260438
    German.dll |10.0.43|2009.01.28 17.16.48| 438,080|4EA9F540
    license.txt | |2009.01.01 10.38.58| 9,413|4D3CDF7A
    onig.dll | |2009.01.28 17.16.50| 312,640|832AEBB9
    readme.txt | |2009.01.25 21.11.58| 5,898|D44C8871
    ShrAlias.exe|10.0.43|2009.01.28 17.16.48| 14,144|810F419C
    takecmd.dll |10.0.43|2009.01.28 17.16.50| 570,688|696CB03D
    tcc.exe |10.0.43|2009.01.28 17.16.52| 84,288|19232C1F
    tcmd.chm | |2009.01.28 16.53.00|1,573,030|BB09A628
    tcmd.exe |10.0.43|2009.01.28 17.16.44|1,441,600|C3BF990C
    updater.exe |1.9.7 |2009.01.28 17.16.44| 288,064|E815FBB5
    updater.ini | |2009.01.29 08.56.08| 317|FB024A71
    ------------+-------+-------------------+---------+--------

    No subdirectories were created. Attempting to start TCMD from TCC 9.02.154
    the message below is displayed:

    TCC: (Sys) This application has failed to start because the application
    configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this
    problem.
    "C:\JPSOFT\L10\tcmd.exe"

    Trying TCC.EXE from TCC 9.02.154 the Application Error message pops up: "The
    application failed to initialize properly (0xc0150002). Click on OK to
    terminate the application."

    One of the strange things is that attempting to start a GUI the error
    message is text, trying to start a TUI the error message is GUI. If I try to
    start TCMDLE10 from the desktop shortcut, the error message is GUI
    (application configuration is incorrect...).

    Attempting to install TCMD10 is apparently successful, but the target
    directory remains empty, and clicking on the created icon just starts
    Windows Explorer with an overview of all drives. You suggested that the
    problem is with the Windows installer, but where can I go to track down why
    it now fails, when it worked without problems for earlier builds? Should I
    try to reinstall winXP?
    --
    Steve
     
  7. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    Works in build 44.
     
  8. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    Works in build 44.
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
    Steve Fábián wrote:


    Did you clean up your Windows Installer directory (as suggested in a
    previous message)?

    Your system is obviously seriously screwed up, but I can't begin to
    guess whether it can be repaired without a reinstall. You might want to
    look on the Microsoft forums to see if they have any suggestions.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  10. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    rconn wrote:
    | Steve Fábián wrote:
    || Attempting to install TCMD10 is apparently successful, but the target
    || directory remains empty, and clicking on the created icon just starts
    || Windows Explorer with an overview of all drives. You suggested that
    || the problem is with the Windows installer, but where can I go to
    || track down why it now fails, when it worked without problems for
    || earlier builds? Should I try to reinstall winXP?
    | Did you clean up your Windows Installer directory (as suggested in a
    | previous message)?

    Yes. No success.
    |
    | Your system is obviously seriously screwed up, but I can't begin to
    | guess whether it can be repaired without a reinstall. You might want
    | to look on the Microsoft forums to see if they have any suggestions.

    Which MS forum?
    --
    Steve
     

Share This Page