1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Take Command v11.0.31 uploaded

Discussion in 'Support' started by rconn, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    I've uploaded build 31 of Take Command / TCC / TCMD/LE / TCC/LE.

    * TCMD - LockMenuBar / LockToolBar / LockExplorerBar - previously this just turned off the grabber, but determined users managed to drag the controls around anyway. Now it disables all dragging.

    * (Very) minor help updates.

    * (x64 builds) - Added workaround for Windows 7 x64 bug that resulted in the wrong common control dll being called by Windows.

    * TCMD - fixed a problem with GUI apps being terminated when they were detached from a tab window.

    * TCMD - fixed a sporadic problem with the toolbar button dialog being displayed partially off-screen if the button was near the right edge of the toolbar.
     
  2. Péter Köves

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well actually, for determined ... read butter-fingered;). And, the tabbed toolsbar is now indeed undragable, but the menubar still is (see attached image).
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    Not reproducible here. Anybody else see this?
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Thu, 29 Oct 2009 19:37:15 -0500, rconn <> wrote:

    |Not reproducible here. Anybody else see this?

    Yes, I can. I checked all three "Lock..." options and restarted TCMD. The
    grabbers were gone (looks nice) but I could right-click-hold the menu bar, say
    about 1 inch to the right of "Help" ... the pointer turned to the 4-headed arrow
    and I could drag the menu bar anywhere. Could it be that you must also get rid
    of a "floating/dockable" property ((wild guess)?
    --
    - Vince
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    29
    I take it all back! I hadn't upgraded to build 31; after doing so I could no longer repro it.
     
  6. Péter Köves

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps it comes from the command buttons I've added? I can left click and hold to the right of the last button; the cursor turns into the 4-headed arrow and the menubar bar is dragable.

    As a completely unrelated OT aside: that 4 headed arrow raises very bad associations in me. It is the symbol of the WWII area Hungarian arrow-cross party; the Hungarian Nazis (same associations as the swastika in Hungary). Just goes to show how difficult it is to choose politically neutral symbols...
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    Nope; even after dragging some menu icons to the menubar, it's still not
    reproducible here.


    It's coming from Windows, not Take Command.
     
  8. gwgaston

    gwgaston Senior IT Security Consultant

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was able to reproduce this when I added a few extra buttons to the menubar via Customize... BEFORE setting LockMenuBar to Yes. After I did a reset on the menubar and restarted TCMD it was then locked as expected. Now with it locked if I added a button, then changed LockMenuBar to No, it stayed locked anyway after a restart of TCMD.

    Basically it appears here that customizing the menubar locks it in whatever state it was in before customizing. So get it in the state you want it before customizing the menubar.
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    That means a bug in the Windows control, and thus not fixable.

    But I can live with an edge condition of an edge condition, particularly
    when there's a simple workaround.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  10. Péter Köves

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right. I'll try that.
     

Share This Page