1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Take Command v11 Public Beta Build 25 Uploaded

Discussion in 'Support' started by rconn, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
    I've uploaded a new beta that has a workaround for the MSVC RTL bug in system() (it's creating a command line with no double quotes around LFNs with embedded white space).
     
  2. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran the B25 installer, and did NOT ask to remove older versions and
    got this box:

    ==================Take Command 11.0

    The feature you are trying to use is on a
    network resource that is unavailable.

    Click OK to try again, or enter an alternate path to a
    folder containing the installation package 'tcmd.msi' in
    the box below.

    Use source:
    C:\Documents and Settings\Cookie\Application Data\JP Software\Take
    Command 11.0\install\0597FD1\
    Browse...

    OK
    Cancel
    ==================
    Clicking Cancel gives

    ==================Installer Information

    The older version of Take Command 11.0 cannot be
    removed. Contact your technical support group.

    OK
    ==================

    On Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 7:53 AM, rconn <> wrote:



    --
    Jim Cook
    2009 Saturdays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Sunday.
     
  3. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2009-10-15 16:53, rconn wrote:

    One minor unrelated (sorry :) installer note. The x64 installer includes the following file:

    EditConfig\Schemas\_cpp.schclass

    while the x86 installer doesn't.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
    Not reproducible here. Did you try uninstalling your previous build? Did you have the new (or previous) build on a network drive?

    Did you download & run the installer or do it through the updater?

    Anybody else having problems?
     
  5. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Take Command v11 Public Beta Build 25 Uploaded

    I downloaded the installer and ran it from my normal C: drive,
    installing to C:\4NT11 which was junctioned back to my C: drive in a
    version specific location.

    Then, I clicked "Check for updates" and got the same result.

    All my versions are on C:, and all are in C:\ junctioned to
    C:\Cookie\Versions\TakeCommand\ ... somewhere


    --
    Jim Cook
    2009 Saturdays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Sunday.
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
    Re: Take Command v11 Public Beta Build 25 Uploaded

    Nothing has changed in the installer for three weeks, and this problem seems specific to your system (or at least nobody else has reported it).
     
  7. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: Take Command v11 Public Beta Build 25 Uploaded

    Jim Cook wrote:
    | I downloaded the installer and ran it from my normal C: drive,
    | installing to C:\4NT11 which was junctioned back to my C: drive in a
    | version specific location.

    In a real "junction" as used in preMicrosoft English all elements joined
    at the junction have identical roles. In Microsoftese this is no longer
    true, a "junction" is actually a pointer. Above you do not specify which is
    a directory and which a pointer to that directory: C:\4NT11 or the
    version-specific location.
    I used to have a junction (in the unambiguous Posix terminology a
    symbolic link) named F:\JPSOFT\I10, pointing to a real directory with a name
    such as F:\JPSOFT\I10.00.076. When I specified to the installer the junction
    F:\JPSOFT\I10 as the target of the installation, it removed the junction
    F:\JPSOFT\I10, and created a real directory F:\JPSOFT\I10. Furthermore, in
    the current beta cycle, when I created a real I11 directory, but made its
    EditConfig subdirectory a symbolic link to another directory, the installer
    removed the junction and created a subdirectory. IIRC it also emptied the
    real directory to which the EditConfig subdirectory was a symbolic link.
    I have since given up trying to use the installer where any of its
    targets might be symbolic links (junctions). I advise to install into a real
    directory (possibly with a version, and even build-dependent name), and to
    create a symbolic link to that directory after a successful installation.
    --
    Steve
     

Share This Page