1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Take Command v13 64-bit

Discussion in 'Support' started by K_Meinhard, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Rex,

    there a hitch in the x64 installer. After answering the license
    agreement, the "yes, uninstall older versions" and the install path
    etc., I get another safety warning (Do you want to execute this
    file). If I agree, TCMD is ostensibly successfully installed. Trouble
    is, its nowhere to be found :-). Even Everywhere can't find it.
    Staring TCMD from the last installer page opens only the SysWOW64
    directory.
    Best regards,

    * Klaus Meinhard *
    <www.4dos.info>
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    Not reproducible here. Try uninstalling the old v13 beta first and then install the public beta and see if that makes a difference.
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    Still not reproducible here, but there's only a couple of possible places
    that Windows Installer could be going astray. I've uploaded a test build
    (tcmdx64.zip) to the ftp beta site; try downloading, unzipping & installing
    that build and let me know if it behaves differently.
     
  4. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo rconn,



    No difference. The 64bit version wasnt installed at all.

    But it _may_ be an installer problem. I have noticed other
    installer-related problems since then, and I'll try a system restore
    at some later time.

    herzliche Grüße,

    Klaus Meinhard
     
  5. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo rconn,


    Small difference. I get no 2nd safty warning. But at the end (Start
    TCMD...) SysWOW64 is opened and no TCMD13x64 directory is found. But
    see my other post. It may be an installer problem on my system.

    herzliche Grüße,

    Klaus Meinhard
     
  6. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo Rex,

    I tried (unsuccessfully) to get to the bottom of this. I took the
    following steps:

    I installed TCLE13x64 and TCCLE13x64 successfully. The only thing I
    noticed was an unusual second safety warning (do you really want to
    run...) when the proper installation (after answering all questions)
    started for TCCLE13x64. So installation of 64-bit programs into
    Program Files seems to be generally okay.

    I (again) tried to install TCMD13x64, latest build 14. Same luck as
    before: I get a the second safety warning before actual installation
    (the same one I get when I start the file, and installation aborts
    when I answer no), then there's a blank console window shortly opening
    before the end, installation says it finished successfully, but
    there's no directory or files containing TCMD13x64. Selection of
    running TCMD or README opens the SysWOW64 dir in Explorer.

    I then extracted and set up the files manually. No problem. I then run
    TCMD13x64 setup again, and it now seems to find the installation and
    offers to uninstall. It doesn't, however. After a seemingly successful
    uninstall all files are still there.

    So what is the difference between the TCMDLE and the TCMD
    installation?

    This is on Vista 64-bit, all updates, german language version, no UAC.

    I then tested this on a Windows7x64 machine, UAC enabled, german
    language, where I get another warning at the end of the install prep
    (Do you want that this program changes settings ...) and installation
    runs okay as expected.

    Seems I might have to upgrade my Vista machine...


    herzliche Grüße,

    Klaus Meinhard
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    I think you have the same problem (Windows Installer x64 bug) as a couple of
    other users. The problem is not in the new builds, it's in the old build
    (12 and earlier) when uninstalling. Build 14 has to uninstall 12, and
    that's where it's displaying that message & console window -- and failing.
    The 32-bit Windows Installer does not seem to have the problem (nor do other
    x64 users), so it seems to be Windows Installer version specific. (I added
    a workaround for build 13+ so it wouldn't make the offending script call
    when uninstalling.)

    The only way around it is to remove the build 12 & earlier versions from
    your system. Delete everything on disk (especially including any saved .msi
    files), and scrub the registry of any v13 x64 traces. (There will be a lot
    -- the Windows Installer adds them everywhere!)
     
  8. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo Rex,


    I am pretty sure there wasn't a prior build of version 13 x64 on that
    system. I had only installed the x86.

    I guess I'll see what the next update will do - will it update the now
    existing version build 14 correctly?

    herzliche Grüße,

    Klaus Meinhard
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,870
    Likes Received:
    83
    It doesn't have anything to do with the next update; the issue is the
    previous build's uninstaller. Build 14 doesn't have the script call on an
    uninstall, so it won't have the problem that build 12 did.
     
  10. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    On 9/6/2011 9:56 AM, rconn wrote:

    I finally built up the courage to try getting rid of build 12. A Windows
    update had already created a restore point.

    I located the directories in the Program Files areas (both 32-bit and
    64-bit) and renamed the directories that referenced Take Command 13.
    Then I fired up the Registry Editor (regedit) and ran through it using
    two search strings: "take command 13" and "tcmd13". I searched for the
    strings in the keys, values, and data. Whenever I found something, I
    deleted the single item if there were items for other programs in the
    same key or the entire key, and I deleted the parent key when it
    appeared that the entire key had been created just for Take Command 13
    (for example, for all the subcomponents such as the language dlls,
    ide.exe, etc.). As Rex said, there were a lot of keys!

    With some trepidation, I rebooted the computer (I once destroyed a
    computer when trying hopelessly to get rid of Norton Internet Security
    and had to start over with a new hard disk). Thankfully, it booted up
    without any apparent problem. The Control Panel "Programs and Features"
    tool no longer showed Take Command 13 -- a good sign. And build 14
    installed and is now running fine. Whew.

    -- Jay
     

Share This Page