1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Take Command Will Not Start

Discussion in 'Support' started by skanjo, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. skanjo

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having quite a few problems with Take Command not starting. I have the same problem on two different machines one running XP and another running Windows 7 x64.

    The scenario usually goes something like this:
    * Start machine
    * Open Take Command via shortcut, windows opens and the error reporting dialog pops up
    * Try again, same thing
    * Reboot computer, same thing
    * Reboot computer, not it works for a while, could be days, could be hours

    Eventually I will run one too many commands and it will freeze the entire computer in such a way that the mouse works, I can maximize windows and move them around but I cannot close any windows, I cannot kill any process, the only thing that can be down is to force shutdown with the old power button. I have never experienced this kind of failure before.

    I am at the point where I am going to stop using Take Command.

    I also just upgraded to the latest version and still have problems. The only thing I can think of at this point is to re-install the OS.

    Has anybody experienced this problem?
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Thu, 11 Mar 2010 23:27:18 -0500, skanjo <> wrote:

    |Open Take Command via shortcut, windows opens and the error reporting dialog pops up

    What does it say? Does it offer an opportunity to see details?
    --
    - Vince
     
  3. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    | I have been having quite a few problems with Take Command not
    | starting. I have the same problem on two different machines one
    | running XP and another running Windows 7 x64.
    |
    | The scenario usually goes something like this:
    | * Start machine
    | * Open Take Command via shortcut, windows opens and the error
    | reporting dialog pops up
    | * Try again, same thing
    | * Reboot computer, same thing
    | * Reboot computer, not it works for a while, could be days, could be
    | hours
    |
    | Eventually I will run one too many commands and it will freeze the
    | entire computer in such a way that the mouse works, I can maximize
    | windows and move them around but I cannot close any windows, I
    | cannot kill any process, the only thing that can be down is to force
    | shutdown with the old power button. I have never experienced this
    | kind of failure before.
    |
    | I am at the point where I am going to stop using Take Command.
    |
    | I also just upgraded to the latest version and still have problems.
    | The only thing I can think of at this point is to re-install the OS.
    |
    | Has anybody experienced this problem?

    A variant. WinXP home with SP3, latest MS updates. I use only TCC, not TCMD,
    often in multiple concurrent windows. In the last few days my system has
    been freezing totally unxpectedly when TCC is minimized to the system tray.
    I had been in the middle of Word mostly, occasionally in Firefox. Up to now
    I had suspected my pretty old hardware. Note that I do not use CascadePoint
    at this time. My laptop, running WinXP Pro SP2, has not had this problem,
    but it usu. just sits behind me, and is used as a backup.

    I will try to go back a few builds on TCC to see if the problem persists.
    --
    Steve
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    I've never seen or heard of something like this happening, *except* for some
    rare cases when a third-party app is injecting code into TCMD and crashing
    it. You should be able to tell if you can get a "details" output from the
    error reporting dialog. (You might also try temporarily disabling likely
    apps, like antivirus or screen managers.)

    What version of Take Command are you running?

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. vpdura

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    On Fri, 12 Mar 2010 08:32:00 -0500, Steve Fábián
    <> wrote Re RE: [Support-t-1800] Take Command
    Will Not Start:


    That does sound like hardware to me.
    --
    At first they laugh at you, then they ignore you, then they fight you, then you win.
     
  6. skanjo

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using the latest version 43.

    I do not know what likely apps would interfere.

    I only use Take Command for one purpose, to run builds using Maven. I setup the tab bar to open TCC in a new tab in either a project the svn trunk or branch and then run Maven. That's it.

    I have occsiaionlly used the BAT debugger a couple of time when trying to troubleshoot problems with another build tool named easyant. Wish I had that years ago.

    I did grab the temp file that was going to be sent to MS. I will attach it in the next post, my train station is coming up and I gotta shutdown.
     
  7. skanjo

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is the file. If this is not the "details" you were referring to then let me know I will try to get something else.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    This isn't useful; it's just a list of the modules. You should have some
    exception info in the additional details screen.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  9. skanjo

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update on this...

    The only other error info I can provide now is what I found in the EventViewer but I suspect this is not what you want.

    Code:
    Event Type:    Error
    Event Source:    Application Error
    Event Category:    None
    Event ID:    1000
    Date:        3/11/2010
    Time:        11:20:30 PM
    User:        N/A
    Computer:    AUDIR8
    Description:
    Faulting application tcc.exe, version 11.0.0.43, faulting module tcc.exe, version 11.0.0.43, fault address 0x00008268.
    
    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
    Data:
    0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74   Applicat
    0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c   ion Fail
    0010: 75 72 65 20 20 74 63 63   ure  tcc
    0018: 2e 65 78 65 20 31 31 2e   .exe 11.
    0020: 30 2e 30 2e 34 33 20 69   0.0.43 i
    0028: 6e 20 74 63 63 2e 65 78   n tcc.ex
    0030: 65 20 31 31 2e 30 2e 30   e 11.0.0
    0038: 2e 34 33 20 61 74 20 6f   .43 at o
    0040: 66 66 73 65 74 20 30 30   ffset 00
    0048: 30 30 38 32 36 38 0d 0a   008268..
    
    Since I reported this problem I have tried a couple of things. First I uninstalled the application completely and cleaned out any references to the application from the registry and re-booted a couple times for good measure. I then re-installed 43.

    The only other thing I changed was turning off WindowBlinds, which is Windows theme software. BTW, TC does not honor Windows themes.

    Since these changes I have not experienced any problems with TC. The next time I get the error I will be sure and capture as much additional information as I can and post it here.
     

Share This Page